Dahua NVR / Cameras, Unboxing, Setup and Install...

Discussion in 'NVR's, DVR's & Computers' started by Saltster, Dec 22, 2017.

Share This Page

  1. Saltster

    Saltster Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Florida
    Dahua NVR / Cameras, Unboxing, Setup and Install...

    I ordered my Dahau NVR Model NVR5216-4KS2 from Andy on Dec 17, 2017 and I Received them by Fedx on Dec 22 2018 just 5 days later...

    Shipping Boxes NVR and Cameras came in.
    PC230185.JPG

    Unboxed

    PC230188.JPG

    Installed two 4TB WD Hard Drives
    http://amzn.to/2C1sjqm

    PC230190.JPG

    Attached two D-Links
    D-Link Systems 10-Port Gigabit Web Smart PoE Switch including 2 Gigabit SFP Ports (DGS-1210-10P)
    http://amzn.to/2CWe3P6

    PC230192.JPG

    Booted NVR to HP Monitor


    PC230193.JPG

    Entered password and other settings


    Now just need to Register my Cameras to the NVR...


     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2017
  2. Saltster

    Saltster Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Florida
    OK, Listen up if you are new to setting up your NVR and Cameras for the first time: This will save you a lot of time and frustration!!!

    I had some issues with Registering the Cameras using just the NVR... The IP would not take... So with a little help from a friend / memberCountZero
    who guided me through setting up and registering the cameras using the below instructions:

    First: make sure your Computer is plugged into the switch.
    Next: plug your Camera into the switch.
    Next: make sure you have your NVR plugged into the switch.

    You now have a very small camera network. :)

    Now using Internet Explorer, try typing the Cameras IP address 192.168.1.108 into the URL in your "ie" browser.

    You should get the camera login screen. type in Admin/Admin, this is the cameras default user name and password.

    It will ask you to install a couple of plugins. press OK to all of them. (You may have to log in again after they are all done.)

    Once you log in, you should see a live View of the camera.

    Click on the SETTINGS tab at the top of the screen and browse through all the fun options.

    Login Screen
    IP Camera 1.JPG


    Add and additions user (recommended)
    Use a long password...
    Capture.JPG

    Setup your date and time etc...
    time date.JPG


    Check to see what build and version your have
    upload_2017-12-23_15-28-40.png


    Change and set up your IP Addresses for each camera you have
    upload_2017-12-23_15-29-32.png



    That's it, now go to your NVR and log onto it...
    Click on Camera, Registrations, then do a Devise Search,
    Once your camera shows up, add to the below.

    PC240214.JPG


    You may also need to get back into modify and type in your admin / admin user name and password?

    upload_2017-12-23_15-32-5.png

    Hope this helps. :)
     
    PapaBill likes this.
  3. Saltster

    Saltster Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Florida
    You may need to do this, before you can set up your Cameras using the above info...

    My Cameras IP addresses were like this
    192.168.1.X
    and my Modem is this
    192.168.XX.X

    So in windows 10, I needed to set for 192.168.1.20 (Or something similar) You should be able to access the cameras directly.
    Here is the link I used to set up my IP Protocol...

    How to Assign a Static IP Address in Windows 7, 8, 10, XP, or Vista

    [​IMG]
     
    PapaBill and bigredfish like this.
  4. EMPIRETECANDY

    EMPIRETECANDY IPCT Vendor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    2,665
    Likes Received:
    4,841
    Location:
    HONGKONG
    thanks to @Saltster!
     
    Saltster likes this.
  5. Saltster

    Saltster Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Florida
    Making some progress on my new Dahua Build

    There are two power outlets in this closet, the one to the bottom left is the closest outlet...
    I am thinking of putting another battery backup for the alarms and D-Links... I have the below on my computers down stairs, not sure which one I will be using here?

    Tripp Lite 1500VA 900W UPS Battery Back Up
    http://amzn.to/2BuJzDw

    I my placing the D-Links below the three Alarm Panels
    PC240216.JPG

    I Mounted my two D-Link using some wall anchors
    http://amzn.to/2C0NlW3

    I will need to get some PVC Elbows to run the Cat6 through so the cabling make some good clean turns on the wall.

    D-Link Systems 10-Port Gigabit Web Smart PoE Switch including 2 Gigabit SFP Ports (DGS-1210-10P)
    http://amzn.to/2CWe3P6

    I Attached two D-Links to the wall using the supplied Rack mount, and some wall anchor's and screws... Made sure both units were level... This gave me enough spce under the two D-Links to add more in the future as I expand.

    PC240218.JPG

    Bought some Zactron 1000 Feet CAT6 UTP 23 AWG Solid Copper, CMR Riser Rated, UL Listed, Pull Box, Blue
    Price: $99.99 free shipping
    http://amzn.to/2Bj3sAH

    The Cat6 Wiring looks to be good quality, jacked it thick. I'm pleased...

    PC210184.JPG

    I am using the below color scheme for attaching the Network Cable Modular Plugs

    http://amzn.to/2zt47ue

    Using some Cable Strain Relief Boots Cable Connector Plug Cover
    http://amzn.to/2BOj6VP

    Using the TRENDnet Crimp, Cut, and Strip Tool, TC-CT6, works great.
    http://amzn.to/2C0y9IB
    network wiring diagram.jpg

    Placed the Dahua NVR5216-4KS2 down stairs next to my wall mounted TV, so I can easily glance at it when needed.


    PC250219.JPG

    Only have three Camera hooked up at the moment, more to come...
    Yes I know, The view is of my closet ceiling and panel boxes.. Securest closet in town LOL

    PC250221.JPG


    my Cameras IP numbers are like this,
    leaving the cameras IP numbers in this range 192.168.1.XXX
    so i will being by using the 200 range like this, in increments of two:
    192.168.1.200
    192.168.1.202
    192.168.1.204
    192.168.1.206
    192.168.1.208
    up to
    192.168.1.255

    This is so if I need to add a camera between, I have an available number.

    Eventually I will have the below setup:
    Video Surveillance Equipment, cameras, mounts, software, computer and HDMI Tablet.
    1) NVR5216-4KS2 w/ WD Purple 4TB Surveillance Hard Disk Drive
    1) Blue Iris
    2) DGS-1210-10P D-Link Systems 10-Port Gigabit Web Smart PoE Switch
    Multiple = IPC-HDW5231R-Z
    Multiple = IPC-HDW5231R-ZE
    Multiple = PFB203W mount
    2) IPC-HFW5231E-Z12E
    Cat6 Solid Copper Wiring

    Video Surveillance Viewing:
    NVR Monitor
    i7 Tower Monitors
    i7 Laptop
    and Smartphone

    Also after doing some research, I wanted to know how I would be viewing the surveillance Cameras from within my house and from in different rooms. I thought that I would need wiring and connections to every TV in my house, but after talking with "CountZero", I decided on a simplified way, by simply using a Tablet with an HDMI port. Simply plug and play :)

    So I feel that a HDMI Tablet would be nice to have for the purpose of connecting to my large wall mounted TV screens in different rooms.
    Therefore, I will be getting a 10+ inch HDMI Tablet, that I can take into any room with a TV and view all the live camera feeds when needed.

    and Since I have some FireTV Boxes in every room,
    http://amzn.to/2Bsy27B
    I will be using an app called TinyCam Pro on the FireTV Boxes to monitor using those TVs.

    The install and build to be continued soon.
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2017
    mat200 and PapaBill like this.
  6. Saltster

    Saltster Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Florida
    Started to dissemble the Dahua PFB203W wall mount using the tool supplied.

    PC250222.JPG

    I was a little disappointed with the way the wiring / Cabling feeds through the back, with NO option of running the Wiring / cabling through the Top.
    There should have been a screw out cap, which would give you the option of running the wiring out the Top for a flush mount on the concrete wall... Not all wall mounting projects can go directly though the wall..

    Now I may have to drill a hole in the top and attach a water tight cable gland... extra work, extra costs...

    PC250223.JPG

    On the flip side, here is a view of the camera next to the mount, this mount would stick out from the wall, the same distance as if you had a Dahua junction box...

    PC250224.JPG

    I may end up, filing a U hole on to the top edge, and mount the wiring against the wall, them cut a PVE pipe down the middle to cover the wiring, OR use a thin Cord Channel I got at home depot,

    Legrand Wiremold CordMate Channel, White-C10 - The Home Depot
    upload_2017-12-25_7-48-38.png

    I wont know until I go test to see which will work the best, on a concrete wall with hardie board siding... It is not practical to drill into the concrete block and run up inside of it, the hardie board makes this impossible...

    However, i will look to see if I can drill into the Harte Board and slip the Cat6 Cabling between the siding and the Hardie concrete board. Not sure if it will run up and through the ceiling ?
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2017
    mat200, PapaBill and EMPIRETECANDY like this.
  7. actran

    actran Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    104
    mat200 and Saltster like this.
  8. vette-kid

    vette-kid Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2017
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    6
    Saltster,

    I'm new here too and trying to learn. Doesn't that nvr have poe built in? Why the switches? I was going to order this under the thinking that this and cameras are all i need (and a monitor). Am I more clueless than I thought?

    By the way, I was actually looking at that reolink system too.

    Sent from my SM-G900T using Tapatalk
     
    Saltster likes this.
  9. Vtor

    Vtor n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    11
    Following sir.
     
    Saltster and EMPIRETECANDY like this.
  10. EMPIRETECANDY

    EMPIRETECANDY IPCT Vendor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    2,665
    Likes Received:
    4,841
    Location:
    HONGKONG
    @Saltster Would be the first IP CAM new user for how to set up the system step by step, this Can be good for the new users. Good job! Go on sir!
     
    mat200 and Saltster like this.
  11. Aajjoo

    Aajjoo Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    North Sweden
    @Saltster This guide will be great help to me once I get my new Dahua system. Thanks!


    Skickat från min iPhone med Tapatalk
     
    Saltster likes this.
  12. Saltster

    Saltster Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Florida
    Hi vette-kid

    Yeah, after just purchasing a New Reolink 16 camera unit, (Which I thought, the daytime Video was Awesome) I decided to scrap it, because of the one sided feedback that I got on here, and because of the night time video was pixelated and grainy!
    PoE Camera Install and Camera Placement

    So, When I set out to accomplish something, I research all aspects of what my options are (not to be closed minded) about equipment, cabling, tools, mounts, locations etc...

    So what I discovered was that im my case it would be better to utilize the Dahua NVR5216-4KS2 and separate switches. There are a few things good about doing it this way...

    1) I could place the NVR downstairs by my TV set (or anywhere) and monitor what is going on outside etc...
    2) I could place the switches upstairs with easy access to my attic...
    3) with the switches upstairs all the Cat6 cabling are just going to the switch boxes... and only one Cat6 is going to the NVR...
    4) diferent switch boxes have different
    Probably more reasons I could think of...

    When the NVR has the built in poe ports built in you are limited to one location for the box, and by the number or ports and power it has...
    With separate switch units, like for instance mine Supports 8 PoE ports with 78W per switch, plus they have two SFP ports that I could use to connect the two switch boxes together, without utilizing any of the ports... by using a cable http://amzn.to/2C5HH54

    Here a diagram is worth a thousand words... This is similar... only my switch's are managed... so i did not need the middle switch box... My NVR goes directly to my D-Links...

    Hope this helps.
    Good luck
    Sam :)



    upload_2017-12-10_19-32-45.png
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2017
    mat200 and spoonek like this.
  13. Saltster

    Saltster Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Florida
    Thanks, @EMPIRETECANDY hoping not to have second thought about it though!!! It would be nice if seasoned members were more open minded and did not pounce on new members for doing there own research and forming there own opinions on choice of equipment and supplies... There are lots of good quality supplies out there, for one not to be open mined... Just because someone uses one thing, does not mean that there aren't other good options out there. JMOP.
     
    Vtor, Aajjoo and vette-kid like this.
  14. spoonek

    spoonek Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2017
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    18

    Hey saltster, there is a rubber plug that you can remove to allow wall mounting and no drilling.

    upload_2018-1-3_13-14-9.png
     
    mat200, dmarz and Aajjoo like this.
  15. Aajjoo

    Aajjoo Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    North Sweden
    Hey @spoonek
    Is that the PFB203W wall mount?
    I thought I would have to drill a hole for the cable myself, good news
    Is there enough room in the bracket to connect the camera and tuck the cable in instead of connecting it in a junction or something else.

    Thanks!


    Skickat från min iPhone med Tapatalk
     
  16. spoonek

    spoonek Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2017
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    18
    Yes and yes.
     
    Aajjoo likes this.
  17. Aajjoo

    Aajjoo Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    North Sweden
    @spoonek
    Thanks! One less thing to worry about


    Skickat från min iPhone med Tapatalk
     
    spoonek likes this.
  18. dgonzalezO4

    dgonzalezO4 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    You added an additional user to the camera, but you added the admin/admin user to the NVR? Was that an error?
     
  19. Big Ry

    Big Ry Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    3
    What are you doing with that Z12? Is that going to be a LPR? And if so, are you running it off the NVR? I saw you mentioned using Blue Iris in another post. Is BI for the LPR? I'm still a novice, so I'm not really sure how you might use both BI and an NVR simultaneously. But I have the same cams and NVR as you, except I have the PoE NVR and I haven't purchased a LPR cam yet.... Still figuring that part out clearly. But if that is your setup with that Z12, using it as a LPR controlled by the NVR, I'd really appreciate if i could get more info on how exactly you setup the schedule, shutter, gain, etc. on the NVR and if you're dealing with the auto focusing issues the Z12 apparently has.

    Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
     
  20. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,029
    Likes Received:
    5,323
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    LPR is an art, read here: LPR