Dahua NVR Setup

Reaction score
Hi Folks,
I finally broke down and purchased my first security system. I purchased a Dahua NVR (DHI-NVR4208-8P-4kS2) along with 5 IPC-HFW2231TP-ZS.
Setting this up is a pain for me as looks all foreign (TCP/UPNP etc..) I have some knowledge but very very limited.

First question, is there a way to set up my NVR to WIFI..I've been googling and YouTube for the past 2 hours and I can find anything. Is there a way to make this happen and in a way that even a layman like myself can do it?

Also for email alerts..I dont know what I am doing wrong but I always get a "test error"
Here's what I am entering
So for SMTP server I enter: smtp.gmail.com
Port 465 (SSL) or 587 (TLS)
username: xxx@gmail.com
password: xxxx
Receiver: xxxx@gmail.com
Sender: xxxx@gmail.com
Encryption type: None/SSL/TLS ...I pick tls
Interval: 120s (default)
Health Enable (unchecked) 60 min (default)

Could I be getting an error of due to the fact that Gmail requires both SSL and TLS encryption type and the options I get are one or the other but not both?

My end is to be able to watch my cameras from my phone without the NVR being connected to my mobile hotspot.

thanks for your help!

Mark

Barboots

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Email alerts using Gmail remains broken on NVR4208-8P-4kS2, so you will need to use another provider. I am successfully using Yahoo, but I have read of someone having problems with this option. There is a whole thread on the topic of email alerts.