Dahua Starlight IPC-HDW5231RN-Z not working :(

Andyhhhdx

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hello all.
I have got a Starlight IPC-HDW5231RN-Z camera which i have been using since December 2016 with no problems at all. This morning i woke up and could hear the camera clicking as though it was booting up and i didn't really think anything off it but it kept clicking after about a minute so i tried logging into the camera through the web browser which i was able to do. I could see the video stream and then it went off and said "resource is limited, open video failed" so i rebooted the camera and it came back on for about 10 seconds and then i get the click again and the camera stops working and i have to wait about a minute for it to click again to come back on and then it will work for about 10 seconds and then it freezes again.
It is being powered by POE
So far i have:
Changed the network cable
Powered it using a power pack
Reboot POE switch
Rebooted router
Factory reset the camera
But still having the same problem of getting a video for about 10 seconds and then it freezes and goes off. I don't think i can even risk trying to update firmware because i'm pretty certain it will brick the camera.

Any ideas?
Thanks
Andy

bjornhallberg

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
I seem to be having the same issue with my camera. I've only plugged it in to test it but when I finally got around to installing it, it seemed dead. Can still ping the IP and if I do a reset I might just be able to enter the web interface before it crashes. Upon boot-up after a reset I get some sort of mechanical noise, like the zoom or autofocus working incessantly for a few seconds. I've gone through the same troubleshooting checklist but to no avail.