dell optiplex have wifi?

Discussion in 'NVR's, DVR's & Computers' started by farnk, Feb 13, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. farnk

    farnk Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    New York
    Hi,
    So I plan on purchasing Dell Opt. Do Dell Opt typically have wireless network cards whether it is onboard or on PCI?

    I plan on having the system far in my back yard. I have access to electricity. So for me to view the PC outside, I would like to do it on my cellphone or via my desktop that is inside my house.

    thanks,
    Frank
     
  2. NoloC

    NoloC Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    407
    If this pc will be your BI server, that's a really bad idea. Needs to be wired.

    For that matter any vms will likely choke on wifi.
     
    farnk likes this.
  3. farnk

    farnk Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    New York
    This will be a dedicated PC to BI
     
  4. farnk

    farnk Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    New York
    Just to be clear, I plan having all cameras wired to PC. Only viewing the PC i would like to do on my cell or desktop inside my home.
     
  5. NoloC

    NoloC Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    407
    Well that is better, but still not recommended. You might have better luck with a wireless bridge by UBNT. How far is it and do you have line of sight with no obstacles?
     
    farnk likes this.
  6. farnk

    farnk Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    New York
    So does the Dell Opt have a wireless network card onboard or not?
     
  7. NoloC

    NoloC Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    407
    Read the specs for the specific machine. I would guess not.

    You can always put an old router in AP mode and create a wireless link.
     
    farnk likes this.
  8. farnk

    farnk Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    New York
    I plan to have the PC with BI in a shed about 50ft away from the house.
     
  9. NoloC

    NoloC Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    407
    Try it and see I guess but I have not had much luck connecting via wifi. Will depend a lot on if there are neighbors around causing interference. Obviously 5.8 would be hopefully less crowded.

    There are other alternatives like powerline devices.
     
    farnk likes this.
  10. Whoaru99

    Whoaru99 Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2018
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Here
    As has been alluded to, there are many different models and configurations. Generally my opinion is "probably not" but you have to check the specs given for the one(s) you are looking at.

    Bear in mind the Optiplex typically are targeted as general office working computers so usually just basic, no frills boxes.
     
    NoloC and farnk like this.
  11. Sybertiger

    Sybertiger Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2018
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Orlando
    My Dell Optiplex 7040 came with one onboard Ethernet controller (RJ45) no WiFi. I added a PCI ethernet card to have another RJ45 and plug it into a TP-Link power line adapter for connection to the home network router. I get ~800Mbps over the powerline. I estimate it's traveling through about 70 feet of wiring. Click HERE.
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2019
  12. VorlonFrog

    VorlonFrog Known around here

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,000
    Likes Received:
    588
    Location:
    Charlotte
    If you're dead set on a wifi connection into the house, use a three-antenna wifi-router and replace the outer two antennas with a pair of these directional panels. They work like a champ.
     
    farnk likes this.
Tags: