Dense persons guide to the Dahua IPC-HDW5231R-Z

Hirize

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
I have had a tough time starting out with the whole IP camera thing.
So much of the information on this forum is just a single degree past the noob like me that it was difficult to grasp much of the stuff talked about or understanding how it worked and because of that I decided to make the following guide for the total noob / dense person / old guys / I really don't want to become an expert on this also...... type of people!

Written 10-2017 and I will add as I go along.

A) First off this is a great camera, easy to install and set-up if you know the tricks.
B) I do not use a NVR so nothing here about that, might save you some reading.
C) I have 5 cameras purchased through Andy at Empire. Good deal fast shipping if he has them in stock.
D) Out of 5 cameras 2 are for live viewing only and 3 have a MicroSD card to record motion detection events plus live viewing.

1) You do not 'need' anything else to mount it onto a flat wood surface. It has plastic anchors included for drywall / siding. I mounted on wood so never used them. I also mounted a few on angled siding and it does not matter because of how you can angle the camera.
2) If you want to cover all the wire connections to be super neat then a junction box of some kind would work. I have not studied what Dahua offers. The ethernet connection comes with a waterproof connection which is pretty neat!
3) I used the POE (Power Over Ethernet) but there is a power connection cable which 'y's off the main cable coming off the camera. Do the POE sooooo simple!!
4) I have 5 cameras and some other ethernet cables in an electric connection cabinet so I purchased this POE switch.
If you do not need so many POE connections there are many with 4 POE connections. I plugged this in connected to my router, connected first camera and it worked, done, finished. Nothing else to do with the switch.