Digital IO Contactor

willylam

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I am new to Blue Iris, what I like to setup is that in front yard and backyard with motion trigger light and open the gate.

So when someone walk near door it will trigger a relay to on the and another relay to open gate. How do I about this which brand of IO board that can be used for my BL pc?

Thanks

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Simple Blue Iris Output using Shelly1 Wi-Fi Devices

In case someone is interested, I recently performed a simple output with Blue Iris v5 using a Shelly1 Wi-Fi smart switch. I chose the Shelly1 because it is tiny, not expensive, very configurable, don’t require their cloud for local operations, are UL-approved and I needed to start somewhere! This is my first venture into such devices, as I had disconnected my two Alexa Echo Dots in 2020 after realizing our household was being listened to...but that’s another thread.

The Shelly1 can operate from and switch 120VAC to 240VAC or when properly configured, 12VDC or 24 to 50VDC. The relay contact inside the Shelly1 is a ‘dry’ contact, meaning it can switch DC or AC loads up to 15A @ 240VAC. Note that on the input, the switch will apply the same voltage that is applied as the device operating voltage. It should be no problem to operate the coil of an external, higher current relay or contactor with it. However, if you do that I would consider a Quencharc® (an R-C snubber) across such an external relay coil to suppress EMI and voltage transients generated as the field of the coil of the larger, external relay collapses.

I like the fact that I can choose to operate the device on 12VDC, including the device I’m switching. If you’re like me, you likely have a small 12VDC wall wart for an IP or old analog camera around that will power the Shelly. Refer to Figure 1.
Figure 1.jpg