Display weirdness when using H264 with hardware accelerator

RJ90210

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi all, I've been using Blueiris for a couple of months now with 1 camera (Dahua starlight IPC-HDW5231R-Z) on a dedicated Gigabyte Brix (i3-4010U 1.7GHz / 8Gb memory / 120Gb SSD) with Windows 10 LTSB 2016. Files are stored/moved after a couple of days to my NAS. I use BVR direct to disk.

CPU usage is around 11% (1080p, 10pfs, CBR 4096Kb/S, I-frame every 10 frames) when using H.265. Everything is well.

When I switch to H.264H in order to get hardware acceleration (no VPP), the CPU usage drops to 3 - 4%. However, after some time (hours), the video gets distorted. Either moving parts in the image get weird color distortion or some horizontal distorted lines appear. The distortion is not in the feed (looking directly at the Dahua app). Even worse, the distortion is not only displayed but also recorded. This makes the H264 mode not reliable. However, maybe there's a fix someone can recommend to investigate? The computer uses a integrated Intel® HD 4400 graphics that supports quicksync. I've already downloaded the latest drives from Intel.

Thanks for any advise,

Ralph

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Hi all, I've been using Blueiris for a couple of months now with 1 camera (Dahua starlight IPC-HDW5231R-Z) on a dedicated Gigabyte Brix (i3-4010U 1.7GHz / 8Gb memory / 120Gb SSD) with Windows 10 LTSB 2016. Files are stored/moved after a couple of days to my NAS. I use BVR direct to disk.

CPU usage is around 11% (1080p, 10pfs, CBR 4096Kb/S, I-frame every 10 frames) when using H.265. Everything is well.