Dogs and identified has persons

delphinus

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
I'm new to Blue Iris and Deepstack, also use the latest versions and the dogs and other pets are identified has persons, anyone know how to fix this, I try several configurations and seems that with edge vector I have more false alarms. Before dogs were detected has cats.

sebastiantombs

Known around here
Reaction score
AI, like DeepStack, running on a PC is not a foolproof system as you have found out. I get occasional mis-identifications as well, dogs or deer as "people", people as "horse or dog", a shed as a "truck" and a flower bed as a "boat". In my case it doesn't happen often, but no system, even when running on a really high horsepower system. Don't expect results like you see in the movies or on television, ain't gonna happen.

delphinus

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Probably that is the case, when I first installed Blue Iris and Deepstack I like it very much and now that I'm trying to tune it I start to find problems, my system for now is very basic installed in HyperV on an Gen4 I7, I address 7 cores to it but struggles with high cpu everytime I open Blue Iris in foreground.

Until I have all the new cameras installed I won't upgrade the hardware and I'm not also not sure if it's hardware because lately if seems to give more false positives, makes little sense to id a 4 legs animal has a person (unless the coder was thinking in dog style...)

Thanks the help

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Field of view, lighting, and camera settings play a big part of this as well.

Some people try to do too much with a field of view because it works in the movies.

Some screenshots of your camera views with the mis-identification can help us troubleshoot your issues, along with screenshots of your settings.

And then as someone else mentioned, sometimes one will get the occasional mis-identification.

delphinus

Young grasshopper
Reaction score