Doors cam take snapshots when Doors Bell ring?

pethson

n3wb
Reaction score
I'm new to BlueIris and I wounder if it can do what I'm looking for.
I have a home automation system. So far I have installed BI Demo
I have a camera outside my front door.
What I want is when someone push the door bell, I would like BI to take a snapshot.
The door bell is already connected to my HA system to register date and time when door bells are pushed and sending trigger to my cellphone and displaying a message on all TV and monitors in the house.
The plan is to grab this snapshot and present it on all TVs and monitors.
I've read some about a Arduino serial connection to BI, could that make it easier?

Any help is welcome!

Regards Peter

Skickat från min SM-G925F via Tapatalk

venture996

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I would love to have this function. I have considered replacing my doorbell button with the ring.com Video Doorbell product (connects to their app via wifi). I would love to have blue iris be able to add that doorbell camera as another camera feed. The ring.com web site says they have an API coming out.

I'm new to BlueIris and I wounder if it can do what I'm looking for.
I have a home automation system. So far I have installed BI Demo
I have a camera outside my front door.
What I want is when someone push the door bell, I would like BI to take a snapshot.
The door bell is already connected to my HA system to register date and time when door bells are pushed and sending trigger to my cellphone and displaying a message on all TV and monitors in the house.
The plan is to grab this snapshot and present it on all TVs and monitors.
I've read some about a Arduino serial connection to BI, could that make it easier?

Any help is welcome!

Regards Peter

digger11

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
If your HA system has the ability to communicate with a web server, you should be able to get it to trigger a camera.

On my VeraLite, I've created a "trigger" scene.