Drive upgrade procedure

sebastiantombs

Known around here
Reaction score
I've been using BI for four or five years now, since the 3.x days. While I'm fairly familiar with it I am never going to claim to be an expert. I'm going to be adding a second WD purple for video storage since the cameras have outgrown the current drive capacity. I plan on splitting the cameras across the two drives and will probably do a reformat of the original drive and start with a fresh data base. Exactly how to do that is what I'm not confident with.

I will stop BI from running as a service and won't restart it. Then I'll delete the database files leaving the directory in place. Once the new drive is installed, I'll start BI running again, set it as a service again and let the database build itself. I also have a small drive I keep alerts on. I want to keep those alerts since they date back about two months and I've already caught some critical video on them.

What I am wondering about is am I on the right path with deleting the database and starting fresh? I'm also wondering if I do a "repair/rebuild", with pointers to that small alert drive, will they get indexed into the data base? I can easily read those files but it's a heck of a lot easier if they're in the database and can be reviewed quickly using UI3.

Flintstone61

Known around here
Reaction score
are the alerts .jpg's or video? or both? how big a file is the DB? maybe you can copy it and save some of it? When you split up the cams maybe try to keep the "critical video" camera #'s in the same named folder as before and keep the db folder? then you might be able to do a rapir/rebuild afterwards and find them....
Orrrr put the critical video in a seperate folder on a usb drive for a minute. then format both drives. or wait one,,, i hear a guru coming thru the Ipcamtalk wire....:)

sebastiantombs

Known around here
Reaction score