DS-2CD2H85FWD-IZS Faulty LAN Port

Discussion in 'Hikvision' started by Drew Miller, Jan 13, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. Drew Miller

    Drew Miller n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Hi All,

    New to the forum, been reading through your posts trying to find one that matches my issue, there's similar issues but I've not found any exactly the same.

    I'm upgrading my CCTV, I'm using a Hikvision DS-7616NI-I2-16P NVR, I've got two DS-2CD2385FWD-I/GREY 4k cameras installed and working fine for several weeks now, 3rd camera i've added is a 4k varifocal DS-2CD2H85FWD-IZS, this is where my problems have started, I installed it, plugged it's cable into my NVR and it worked, for approximately one day then it stopped, I took it down and plugged it into the NVR using a short cat6 cable to eliminate the cable ran to the camera's mount on my wall, it didn't work, not only did the NVR not detect the camera but the NVR port had no LEDs light up on it with the camera connected, I've tried several different cables and it still doesn't work (including the cables from my already working cameras). The SADP tool doesn't see the camera but I'm unsure I've set it up correctly. So, spoke to the place I bought the camera from then sent it back to them, they say they detected it using SADP then plugged it into an NVR where it worked for 24hrs, they've now sent me it back saying it's fine and suggesting my NVR is at fault. I've upgraded the NVR to the latest Firmware, factory reset it, made more new cat6 cables etc but again I can't get the camera to work and at no point has the port I plug the camera into on my NVR became active (tried all 16 ports and they work fine with my other two Hikvision cameras). I've got a 12v DC supply which I've used alongside the POE cable on the camera, red LEDs flash above and below the lense with the DC supply connected but I still get no response on the NVR port that the camera's connected to.

    I'd be certain that I've got a faulty camera but it's already been back to the supplier who say they've tested it and claim it's fine. It definitely worked when I first connected it and I've still got that footage on my NVR hdd, but not now

    Any suggestions please?
     
  2. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    10,681
    Likes Received:
    3,311
    Location:
    Scotland
    Have you tried the camera with the 12v DC supply and connected to your LAN switch / router?
    With this setup do the link detects lights work and does SADP find the camera?

    The camera is 802.3af Class 3 so should just be compatible with the NVR.
    With the camera connected to the NVR PoE port, what does the VGA/HDMI interface on the NVR show for the POE status for that port?
     
  3. Drew Miller

    Drew Miller n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Hi Alistair,

    Thanks for your reply.

    Yes, I've connected a 12v DC supply direct to the camera and connected it to LAN port on my Broadband router, I've also connected it to an 8 port hub I have a few devices on that connects directly to my Broadband router, I get no link detect lights on either device and SADP doesn't detect it, however I'm unsure I have SADP configured correctly as I've not used it before.

    POE status of the port on my NVR is,
    POE Pwr Config "Disconnected using 0.0W"
    IP Camera "IP Camera Does Not Exist"

    Ta,
    Drew
     
  4. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    10,681
    Likes Received:
    3,311
    Location:
    Scotland
    Nothing to configure in SADP - it will automatically find Hikvision devices on the same wiring as the PC, even if the device is using an IP address in a different range than the PC.
    You could see that if you connect the PC to an unused PoE port on your NVR.

    So, essentially, based on your various tests with multiple LAN ports and cables and an external 12v supply, there is no ethernet access to the camera.
    Yet the supplier says the camera works OK.

    Have you had a close look at the RJ45 cable end on the camera, ideally with a magnifier?

    Where are you based?
     
  5. Drew Miller

    Drew Miller n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    I see, wasn't sure about SADP as it's new to me, ta

    Regarding the cabling, and connector I've had multiple cables plugged into the camera, the cables that work my other Hikvision 4k cameras don't make this one work, I've looked as closely as I can into the camera's RJ45 POE socket and can't see any damage, photo of it is attached.

    I'm in Central Scotland
     

    Attached Files:

  6. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    10,681
    Likes Received:
    3,311
    Location:
    Scotland
    Nothing obvious there, agreed.