Dyn vs NoIP?

Discussion in 'Chit-Chat' started by Hoog23, Feb 6, 2017.

Share This Page

  1. Hoog23

    Hoog23 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    24
    So I just got a notice that I'm about to get billed $40 from Dyn. (Up until last year I think it was free) Any reason (besides have to reconfigure everything) not to use NoIP? Thanks
     
  2. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,618
    Likes Received:
    9,608
    its been a paid service for over two years now...Why Dyn Needed to Discontinue Free DynDNS Pro | Dyn Blog
    I believe the free no ip account will require monthly logins...there are other completely free services..there are often coupons for dyn that will bring it to 25...
     
  3. Dodutils

    Dodutils Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    150
    yes monthly confirmation, you receive a notice about confirmation with a link, you click the link, pass the Captcha and it's done but no "real" login needed.
    upload_2017-2-7_8-12-37.png
     
  4. MrRalphMan

    MrRalphMan Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    72
    I used NO-IP for a few years before getting a static IP and you do need to confirm it every 30 days. Even if you miss it and it 'expires' you still have a grace period to re-enable it before it get's blown away forever.
     
  5. motoolfan

    motoolfan Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Sedalia MO
    FYI, here's a good free alternative. I've been using for about a year now.

    Duck DNS
     
  6. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,579
    Likes Received:
    5,596
    I finally ended up paying for no-ip enhanced a few years ago. No more nag messages on the half dozen or more hostnames I maintain for people.
     
  7. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3,716
    Likes Received:
    3,457
    Location:
    Alabama
    I have used No-IP for 4 years now with no issues, I have the enhanced account (25 hostnames for $24.95 per year). They offer a free Dynamic Update Client program that "....continually checks for IP address changes in the background and automatically updates the DNS at No-IP whenever it changes", according to No-IP.
     
  8. Hoog23

    Hoog23 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    24
    Thanks all. I think I will check out Duck.

    I used No-IP at my moms place but then found out that the dynamic ip really didnt change. I asked the Comcast Tech and he said the only time it would change is if the router went offline overnight and someone else needed a new ip (like a new install) and then it could possibly take that IP.
     
    motoolfan likes this.
  9. nayr

    nayr IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,347
    Likes Received:
    5,239
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    ive been using affraid.org for a decade now, I like it.. nice and simple, although Ive been paying for a while its for features none of you guys need.
     
  10. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3,716
    Likes Received:
    3,457
    Location:
    Alabama
    If the MAC address of the modem is changed manually or if the modem is replaced your IP will likely change. That could be a loooong time.
     
  11. nowandthen

    nowandthen Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    18
    Dyn is getting expensive! 1st year I paid $25, next time I renewed for $54 (2 year subscription), now they want $72 (for 2 year subscription). No-IP "no-nag" is $24.95 a year.
     
  12. mycoma

    mycoma BIT Beta Team

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    44
    Another good free one is Dynu.com I use it and it is very easy to setup.