Expired Subsciption of Blue Iris

Discussion in 'Chit-Chat' started by Benigno Santos, Apr 26, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. Benigno Santos

    Benigno Santos n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    I subscribed blue Iris 1 year ago and seems I setup and stable for 6 months until expiration.
    The problem encountered again when I cannot Remotely View(via WAN), e.g. im 100km away. I never alter the settings for a couple of months.

    I don't need any upgrade, e.g. add new camera, upgrade new camera. etc.

    Did I need to subscribe again?

    Therefore I need to subscribe yearly just to function my remote access?
     
  2. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    25,321
    Likes Received:
    6,371
    No...you have another issue
     
    Benigno Santos likes this.
  3. TonyR

    TonyR Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Alabama
    +1 ^^^.

    Did your WAN IP change?
     
  4. Benigno Santos

    Benigno Santos n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    yes and I corrected it already, I have dynamic IP subscription so I always mind about the IP change. In case theres an new IP, I alter my WAN IP
     
  5. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    25,321
    Likes Received:
    6,371
    Why? Use ddns...
     
  6. TonyR

    TonyR Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Alabama
    Does your Blue Iris PC have a static IP?
     
  7. Benigno Santos

    Benigno Santos n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Its another issue... You are right fenderman... I raised this post because Im in New Zealand and cannot connect to my blue Iris. Now Im back and trying to figure it out, but still no success. This morning I tried again connecting thru my Android phone data and it connect! Maybe the upload and download spped of my Internet Provider gives the problem.... My upload is 4Mbps and download of less than 1Mbps. I will upgrade to 20mbps fiber (which they said same upload and download speed). I have 9 pcs 2MP and 1 pc 3MP in my blue iris, I hope I will see the difference after my update
     
  8. Benigno Santos

    Benigno Santos n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, I assigned a dedicated IP on my Blue Iris. only my Internet provider gives a dynamic IP, so I always aware of WAN change update once I restarted the modem router. but its now ok, I dont know the hell happen why i cannot connect to my blue iris when im in New Nealand
     
  9. Benigno Santos

    Benigno Santos n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    no I dont use DDNS. I dont know what happened.. :-(
     
  10. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    25,321
    Likes Received:
    6,371
    I'm telling you to use it...
     
  11. TonyR

    TonyR Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Alabama
    DDNS is needed when your WAN IP (your public IP provided by your ISP) is not static, meaning it can change. When you are away, you and your remote device (smartphone?) won't know how to find your server. Many newer routers can be set up to report any change in that WAN IP to a DDNS service. Once set up, when you put in a hostname (like "begnigno.noip.net") into your remote device where it says 'WAN', it will query your DDNS provider and find that latest WAN IP reported to it by your router.

    If your router does not have a built-in option for DDNS, then most DDNS companies (no-ip, dyndns, freedns, etc.) have a free client app that installs on your BI server and updates the DDNS server every few minutes with your WAN IP or updates it when the WAN IP changes.

    When set up, you would access your BI server remotely with this example URL:
    http://yourhostname.DDNS-provider.net:XX ;"XX" would be the Blue Iris web server port.
     
    looney2ns and fenderman like this.
  12. looney2ns

    looney2ns Known around here

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    4,572
    Likes Received:
    2,819
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    BI also has this ability built in. In the mobile app, using the first 4 digits and last 4 digits of your registration key, you can query and get your IP.
    But what @TonyR suggests is the best option.