False positives

veert

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
I've been using TinyCam for a few months now, and I think, it's a very well thought-out app.

One area that's giving me trouble, though, is false positives. I'll be as specific as I can:

In-app motion detection
Video source: Blue Iris / v4 / H264
Sensivity: 35

Now, it would make sense to reduce sensitivity, right? I did lower it to 25.... only to start getting more false alarms. How do I know, those are false? By cross-checking them with Blue Iris.

No continuous recording.
No recording within TinyCam, either.

So, technically speaking, I can't be 100% certain, nothing happens.

One thing I know, though,is that Blue Iris is unlikely to miss potential events in this area, since there's more than one cam watching it from different angles. Plus, for some reason, those false alarms mostly happen at night, when the area is illuminated with LED lamps. Last night, I experienced two of those within 15 minutes while holding the phone in my hand and looking at the live feed in near real time.

The scene is indoors, so no moving trees, etc.

Questions for the dev:
* is a 10% drop in sensitivity not enough?
* how can a drop in sensitivity increase the number of alarms?
* could it be something to do with LED light spectrum, power fluctuations etc.?

alexvas

tinyCam Developer
Reaction score
Can you record a false positive mp4 file and send it to me for troubleshooting?

* In most cases it is enough.
* Increase of sensitivity should increase number of motion alarms.
* That could be with power frequency fluctuations, LED light spectrum, etc.

veert

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
PM'd you.
Everyone else - guess, I'll post an update once we have meaningful results.

veert

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
FWIW, the alarms are caused by weird artifacts, such as:
* image suddenly turning blue, or
* image turning blue with a green outline of the scene being visible