First Time Cam/Security Install Planning

Ethernaught

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Hi IPCT. Thanks for the warm welcome.

This seems like the most appropriate place to post my thread. If it's not, mods can move I guess. Please, correct me anywhere I'm wrong (ie: terms, etc.), make suggestions, and all that. I appreciate constructive criticism.

I'd love some assistance with the planning, and execution of my first home security installation. I've been needing to do this, and thinking about it for a couple years probably. As I mentioned in my intro thread, the day before joining here I'd ordered an RLN8-410 NVR and an RLC-811A from amazon.ca. I immediately learned I'd messed up.

I'd thought I would basically have to have two separate "systems"; a camera system, and an intrusion alarm system. Very recently I'd decided to get something going with Reolink because it'd be plug and play, affordable, and because the intrusion alarm system I'd decided on attempting would've been using home assistant and it first required me to learn how to do that(!), so it'd be a while before I had anything setup.

Here's what my 'goals' are as of now, subject to change, because I'm kinda back to the beginning with this whole thing now.

The neighborhood is going to shit. I'm concerned to leave the house unattended. I have an older relative living here too. There's a rise in break-ins, including neighbors on either side of us (houses are joined on the sides). The more I talk to neighbors, the more I hear about it.
If someone is casing the house/neighbors house, or the street, by foot or car, I'd like to know and be able to make them aware of that, ideally. If someone attempts to break in at all (window, door, etc.), I'd like for me and the whole block to know, hah. And I'd like for them to immediately have to leave due to the attention drawn. But I'd also for the property to suggest "this is a bad place to try and break in".

Cameras:
-Good low light ability
-Wired