First time camera user, IPC-T2431T-AS initial questions

AnsonQ

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi all, I just received my first camera from Andy's Amazon store. As a newbie, this is my first camera. I haven't bought BI but will buy it after receiving all the cable & plugs and making a fresh win10 installation for my computer .

I just wanted to make a quick test for the new camera, but my issue is, I can't open web live view(with user name and password) after initializing the camera by following the instruction. I used IE, Chrome, Pale Moon with no result.

My question is: Can I see the live view without BI and new system? Do I need to update the firmware before doing anything?

Here is basic setup, Im using my current computer with a win10 system that I have been using for over 3 years. I bought a new NIC for it, one cat5e cable from router(Asus RT-AC87U) to computer and an other cat5e cable from computer to POE switch(AUMOX SG308P). The camera is powered by this POE switch. After initializing the camera, I changed the IP address by selecting DHCP and an IP was assigned to it. I tried to open the live view page by entering the ip address but it can't open anything. I previously thought maybe it was because I was using ExpressVPN(I flashed my router with ExpressVPN firmware), but after turning off my computer and camera's VPN or even disconnecting my router's VPN, I still got the same result. So maybe it is not the VPN's problem.

Please let me know if you know which part is wrong or what I should do, any input is appreciated, thank you!

Attachments

Kn10

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
I think you'd have to make the cameras IP's static. Because your camera POE switch below the second NIC, there is no DHCP server (like your router) to assign the IP addresses to the camera.

Bit more info about setting it up here:

AnsonQ

n3wb
Reaction score