Foscam FI9900P V1

Discussion in 'Foscam' started by ericrw, Jan 9, 2017.

Share This Page

  1. ericrw

    ericrw n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all, i am having a bit of weird issues on my Foscam FI990P V1.
    It was working fine until few weeks ago, i can't remember if is before or after firmware upgrade, it just stop working one day. Have the camera record using blueiris.

    What happened was, when the camera is connecting thru wired, i can see or ping the camera address but once i switch it to wireless, the camera disappear from network and i can't longer ping or access it thru firefox/chrome. But if you try to access it remotely, it still working fine so this is a bit strange.
    I tried countless factory reset and firmware upgrade, didnt fix the problem. Have almost 10 others camera connecting thru the same wireless AP and no issues at all, just this camera.

    The camera only accessible internally when using wired but not wireless. But remotely still working fine whether wired or wireless. Could this be a network or camera issues?



    Any suggestions? Thanks
     
  2. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    18,823
    Likes Received:
    3,782
    When you say it works remotely how are you accessing the camera?
    When you change to wireless do you use the new ip address?
    In the future avoid foscam, its low end garbage..
    Also, dont port forward your cameras...its a security risk
     
  3. ericrw

    ericrw n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can access the camera externally thru firefox/chrome or even thru android app smart IP Viewer.
    No, is a static IP address so it wont change whether wired or wireless.
    Ya, now i know that, my office been using foscam since we set it up so we never change the brand. What other brand you recommend for future replacement?
    The only way to check cameras externally is thru port forward because we use commercial router and nothing pass thru firewall without port forward. What else can be done?

    Thanks.
     
  4. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    18,823
    Likes Received:
    3,782
    You are generating a huge security hole in your firewall potentially compromising your entire network...use vpn, or at the very lease only port forward the blue iris webserver.
    Your issue doesnt make any sense...try resting the camera and starting over..
    Look at dahua for your future replacements...
     
  5. ericrw

    ericrw n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright, i will talk to my IT provider about it.
    Yes, i know the issues dont make sense but is happening. I just did another reset, still same issues.
    If wireless can't access it internally and remotely is fine.
    Is really very very weird, never come across such issues. I setup almost 20 of foscam cameras before and this is the first.

    I was just thinking if is network or firewall related internally?
    If you connect thru wireless after disconnect the cable, it actually continue to work until you restart the camera or computer.
    Then wont be able to access it anymore.