Fragmented disk housing "New" folder

cltbwc

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
I've been running BI for roughly 5 months and I'm very happy with the feature functionality!! But I've noticed the drive which houses the "New" folder (12TB WD Duo) is highly fragmented which presents a number of challenges.

Has anyone else come across a similar situation? If so, has anyone developed some best practices/routines around drive/file maintenance or defraging the drive without impacting BI performance?

Any help or direction would be greatly appreciated!!

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
I've been running BI for roughly 5 months and I'm very happy with the feature functionality!! But I've noticed the drive which houses the "New" folder (12TB WD Duo) is highly fragmented which presents a number of challenges.

Has anyone else come across a similar situation? If so, has anyone developed some best practices/routines around drive/file maintenance or defraging the drive without impacting BI performance?

Any help or direction would be greatly appreciated!!
What is the challenge? is there an issue you are having?

cltbwc

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
As the use of the 12TB of space increases, I begin having issues with the repair database function resulting in a 00...20 error (runs daily at 10:00 AM ET). Originally I was told by support this is a result of insufficient permissions or some conflict with my Anti-virus. But it runs fine until more and more space is consumed. Also, I see increased time it takes for files to be copied to the "stored" folder which resides on a second 12TB WD Duo (resulting in increased CPU utilization for an elongated period of time). As more and more space is used on the "New" folder array it seems like my overall performance slows.