Full-sized locking rack with UPS...recommendations? Overkill?

Dave88LX

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I have been trying to think of where I want to put this gear. I have my NVR, POE Switch, will try to relocate cable modem (but have some figuring out to do with that), patch panel.

As a network engineer, I have various routers and switches I'd like to mount out of the way as well. I have a little Skeletek half-rack right now that it's sitting in.

I'd like to buy a close to full sized rack 36-44 RU, enclosed, with locking doors, and maybe mount it here beneath my basement stairs. I was thinking the outside of this area would be finished with drywall, but I could also finish the inside with painted OSB or plywood. Install a locking door on the outside. Might even be able to throw a small HVAC leg in there to keep temps down if required.

I'd like to have a rack-mount UPS sitting in the bottom to keep the NVR, POE switch, and cablemodem running at least for a while in the event of a power outage. Long enough to get the generator fired up in the event of a longer outage.

I'm checking out Craigslist for used racks, but curious if there are some affordable decently made racks I could be looking at?

What about an UPS? I'm aware of APC and TrippLite. Recommendations?
Thinking this would be decent. Could also do expandable version.
https://www.amazon.com/Tripp-Lite-Battery-Rack-Mount-SMART1500LCD/dp/B000DZRY9C/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1506459864&sr=8-1&keywords=tripp-lite+rack+mount+ups+1500

NVR is 16.7W, HDD x 2 = 5.7W ea, POE sw is max 96W depending on camera config (say 130-150W max down here.

upload_2017-9-26_16-47-46.jpeg

upload_2017-9-26_16-47-56.jpeg

Last edited:
As an Amazon Associate IPCamTalk earns from qualifying purchases.

Mike A.

Known around here
Reaction score