Ghosting and hardware acceleration

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by bitNine, Jan 4, 2017.

Share This Page

  1. bitNine

    bitNine n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    5
    I've just set up Blue Iris at home and work. It's working perfectly at home. I had ghosting issues, but once I turned on hardware acceleration it disappeared. I can't get rid of it at work, and I believe it's because the computer it's on doesn't support Intel HD hardware acceleration. It's a Dell server and its graphics card is a Microsoft Basic Display Adapter, lol. Is that hardware acceleration a capability of the processor (assuming no on-chip graphics) or a graphics card? I've got an i7 processor at home which has no graphics, but the acceleration seems to work fine, whereas this Dell server is a Xeon processor. Just wondering if I can throw a graphics card in there or if I need to find a different machine. Thanks!
     
  2. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    18,301
    Likes Received:
    3,665
    hardware acceleration only works with intel HD graphics that support quicksync, sandy bridge and up....
    As far as ghosting, match the iframe interval to the fps in the camera..
    increase the receive buffer in blue iris to 20mb.
    Exclude the blue iris programs folder AND all storage folders from any virus scans...
    your xeon is likely and old powerhog and a 300 dollar i5-6500 system would blow it away..search the forum for optiplex and elitedesk..
     
  3. bitNine

    bitNine n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yes, thank you. I've found all the other threads you've posted on about ghosting, and tried it all until the hardware accel fixed my issue at home. All other settings, including matching iframe to fps, increasing receive buffer, etc., had absolutely no effect. At home I'm running 4 cameras all with default settings, and 3 of them run perfectly at near 30fps with only 3mb buffer. It all came down to the hardware acceleration.

    So, you say it only works with intel HD graphics, but my i7-5820k doesn't have HD graphics on-chip. How is it doing hardware accel? I'm only trying to avoid having to buy new hardware at work, and this xeon machine has been relegated to a backup server, so it's just sitting there with plenty of processing power and unused memory. I also want to understand in case I do have to purchase new hardware.
     
  4. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    18,301
    Likes Received:
    3,665
    It is not doing any hardware acceleration...I dont know why its having an effect on ghosting.
    If the xeon is from 2010 or earlier its likely costing you more to run than replacing it. Put a killawatt meter on it, youll be surprised.
    That said, if you are still experiencing ghosting something else is going on...what cameras are you using?
     
  5. bitNine

    bitNine n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    5
    TDP of the Xeon (E3-1230) is only 80W, so not much more than an i5-6500. The machine uses around 35-45W at idle, based on what the UPS is saying.

    I'm running a few Amcrest and a grandstream at home, then at work hikvision and grandstream. I don't think it has to do with the camera settings, because I can hook to cameras at work using BI at home, and there's no ghosting. Also hooking to my home cams from work, it all has ghosting. I just turned off HW accel at home, and I don't get it, but I don't have ghosting. It's has to be due to something else I changed, because they were all ghosting when I first installed BI. No virus software on any of these machines, and no MS security essentials. I've disabled DNR on all work cams.
     
  6. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    18,301
    Likes Received:
    3,665
    That is why i prefaced 2010 and earlier...the e3-1230 is mid 2011....max TDP is no indication of actual power usage though..
    There may be something going on with the network or some of the other software running on the server...any vms software should be running on a dedicated machine.
     
  7. bitNine

    bitNine n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    5
    There's nothing running on that server. It's a fresh install of Server 2012, hooked directly to our main PoE switch which all the cameras are connected to. There is no software installed on it, and I've got an Amcrest NVR (pile of junk) that has been recording these cameras for some time and it has no issues. It is sitting right next to that server. Plus the cameras at work experience no ghosting connected to home BI, meaning not only is the camera stream going over the internet, it's also going over a VPN, but yet it's perfect and without ghosting. So weird.
     
  8. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    18,301
    Likes Received:
    3,665
    if you have another hard drive to test with I would start by saving to it and see what happens.
     
  9. bitNine

    bitNine n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    5
    What's crazy is that I tried that too. Started on the main OS drive, which has a ton of space, then moved everything to a different drive. I also monitored the drive itself and never saw excessive write times nor an out of control queue length.

    Write speed is around 250KB/sec per stream, and disk activity never goes above 1MB/sec. I even ran tests on the drives and they're all capable of over 150Mb/sec write speeds.
     
  10. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    18,301
    Likes Received:
    3,665
    there are some other threads with ghosting issues, it may be this latest version(s) of BI, I would email support.
     
  11. wantafastz28

    wantafastz28 Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    216
    Location:
    Phoenix, az
    When emailing the developer issues, what does he exactly need to know? Any logs need to be sent?
     
  12. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    18,301
    Likes Received:
    3,665
    as much info as you can, your setup, cameras, settings, and a sample video..
     
    wantafastz28 likes this.
  13. bitNine

    bitNine n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    5
    OK, I've got a question. A few days ago I turned on re-encode in order to eliminate the ghosting, temporarily. I do not know how, but today I updated to the latest version and was trying to test a few things, so I turned off re-encode on a couple cameras and now there's no ghosting. I mean, that's great, but I don't understand how that happened.

    Anyway, the question is, on the video format window (camera properties, record tab, video file format button) in the bottom groupbox there's Direct-to-disc and re-encode options. When direct-to-disc is selected, the profile is still selectable. Is this a bug? Does the profile have any effect on direct-to-disc? Seems to me that option should be grayed out, along with the configure button.