Hardware Acceleration with Axis Cameras

Discussion in 'Blue Iris' started by tuffcalc, Mar 20, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. tuffcalc

    tuffcalc n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Has anyone been able to get hardware acceleration working with Axis cameras? BI is telling me it is not compatible.
     
  2. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    28,927
    Likes Received:
    8,457
    are you setting the cam to h.264 or 5? not sure axis even supports 265
    are you using axis zipstream?
     
  3. tuffcalc

    tuffcalc n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    h264. Not using zipstream.
     
  4. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    28,927
    Likes Received:
    8,457
    post your camera video settings and your blue iris settings...
    also what processor are you using? do you have a discrete video card? is it working with other cams?
     
  5. tuffcalc

    tuffcalc n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm using H.264 main profile on the Axis cameras, and have hardware decoding on in Blueiris.

    I have both a discreet video card and intel quicksync CPU (i7-4700k). Hardware acceleration works fine on my Hikvision cameras. Seems to be something specific to the Axis camera stream.

    Any chance you are running Axis cameras? Any luck getting hardware acceleration to work?
     
  6. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    28,927
    Likes Received:
    8,457
    no, too rich for my blood :)...best thing to do is email support, you may have to provide him with direct access to the camera.
     
  7. moulari

    moulari n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi - I have three BI servers with similar spec - all our cameras are axis - same issue - I turn on acceleration on each camera hit apply then go back and look at it is off again. I have tried all kinds of stuff and still no luck.
     
  8. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    28,927
    Likes Received:
    8,457
    email support
     
  9. XBBONE

    XBBONE n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am having the same problem with Axis cameras. tried every settings and didn't help. Anyone got it to work?
     
  10. JeffC

    JeffC n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also have this issue. Has there been any success with hardware decoding and axis?
     
  11. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    28,927
    Likes Received:
    8,457
    There will never be any success unless one of you guys emails the developer and provides access to the camera..
     
  12. tuffcalc

    tuffcalc n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    I did that. Ken actually told me he has axis cameras of his own and would look into it. Tried again a few times.

    Don’t think it is on his priority list.
     
  13. JeffC

    JeffC n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I’ll ping him as well... wanted to see if quick resolution first.
     
  14. DJBWSM

    DJBWSM n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    England, UK
    I have the same issue. I have 16 Axis cams and a few other makes. All the random makes work fine with hardware acceleration but none of the axis ones.
     
  15. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    28,927
    Likes Received:
    8,457
    email support
     
  16. DJBWSM

    DJBWSM n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    England, UK
    Just emailed them. Out of interest, do support visit this forum often? Please excuse the dump question. I have only been a BI user for a week :)
     
  17. SouthernYankee

    SouthernYankee IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    1,167
    Likes Received:
    561
    Location:
    Houston Tx
    No they do not visit this site. BI is owned, operated and developed by one person.
     
  18. DJBWSM

    DJBWSM n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    England, UK
    Thanks for the info. May take a while for a reply then. You would never think something so developed and sleek would be made by a single person!

     
  19. DJBWSM

    DJBWSM n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    England, UK
    Hi All,

    I had an update from Jennifer @ BI which said...

    "It is a known issue that Axis streams are not compatible with the Intel HW decoding. If you have Nvidia hardware, please try this hardware decoding option. "

    I'll update if there is any further info from them.
     
    fenderman likes this.