Hello from UK & Some Installation Advice Please

FlexiPack

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm new to the IP Camera game. I'm just looking to install a small setup at home with 1x cam and 1x NVR. Having never installed CCTV before, what extras might I need but not be aware of?

I'm buying:
  • 1x IP Cam
  • 1x NVR
  • 1x Wall bracket for the Cam

I know I'll need:
  • Ethernet cabling - Can this be safely routed on the underside of a soffit along the back of the house? What distance can Power Over Ethernet be used over ethernet cable?

• Does the ethernet cable need a special type of adapter to fit in the IP Cam (A Dahua IPC-HDW4231EM-AS) or does it take a regular ethernet plug?
  • I'll need a hard drive but I'm sorted on that front (Getting WD Purple). Is it difficult to install the hard drive and does it need a lot of configuring?
Thank you!

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm new to the IP Camera game. I'm just looking to install a small setup at home with 1x cam and 1x NVR. Having never installed CCTV before, what extras might I need but not be aware of?

I'm buying:
  • 1x IP Cam
  • 1x NVR
  • 1x Wall bracket for the Cam

I know I'll need:
  • Ethernet cabling - Can this be safely routed on the underside of a soffit along the back of the house? What distance can Power Over Ethernet be used over ethernet cable?

• Does the ethernet cable need a special type of adapter to fit in the IP Cam (A Dahua IPC-HDW4231EM-AS) or does it take a regular ethernet plug?
  • I'll need a hard drive but I'm sorted on that front (Getting WD Purple). Is it difficult to install the hard drive and does it need a lot of configuring?
Thank you!
Welcome FlexiPack,

Please feel free to check out the notes I made which are a summary of a lot of the reading I've been doing here,:
Looking for some advice and direction!

Lots to learn, and I am still learning.