IP Cam Talk

Welcome to the new IPCT! If you are having an issue logging in, please clear your cookies / cache.

Hello from UK

Reaction score
Hi all,

I stumbled across this forum looking into Arlo security cameras *waits for the collective spitting on the floor*.

I have some experience with CCTV which I'll go into shortly!

I was looking at Arlo as I need a battery operated camera to secure a dog run at the back of my home that doesn't have running power.

My experience: I'm a former burglary investigator - I've lost count of the people I've visited who's system, which they spent thousands on sometimes, was defeated by a hoodie, baseball cap or on one occasion a pizza box.

I've therefore concluded that covert (or semi covert at least) is the way to go and I was planning to buy a camo skin for my chosen camera.

I've seen advice given to newbies here, and I have some questions - I'm not here to pick fights, it's just that some of it contradicts what I experienced as in investigator trying to get criminals to court off of CCTV quality.

I can't paste in the advice because Tapatalk doesn't do multiple windows ‍♂, but it was along the lines of:

- don't use wi-fi cameras
I'm guessing because of quality issues

- don't use Nest, Arlo etc
Is there a better brand that'll do a battery operated camera? Domestic covert cameras are still in their infancy so this seems like the only option - Raspberry Pi setups are reportedly unreliable. I recognise the compromise I'll have to make on quality, but the camera is going to be right under their face (assuming they'll walk up to the run) so hopefully quality won't be too much of an issue

- don't use cloud
I've seen professional burglars take the DVR when they turn over a house, so this advice runs contrary to advice I've been giving. Can anyone enlighten me?

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5010 using Tapatalk

SouthernYankee

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
My advice post