Hello!

bludoc

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

Just joined the forum and wanted to say hi. I have no prior experience with cameras except for a wifi camera I installed as a nannycam. I am interested in setting up a NVR and around 4 IP cameras for a new house that is under construction. I was looking at some of the posts and people suggested to wire a CAT6 cable. This was something I should have to told the builder before signing as he would not do it now. I was wondering how big of a task that would be for someone without any electrical experience?

I would appreciate any other advice you guys might have for a newb
It seems like the IPC-HDW5231R-Z is a popular choice and I am considering to buy 2 of these one for the backyard and one for the garage.
I really like the tracking functionality of SD50225U-HNI and would like to install it in the driveway but not sure how well it works any thoughts on auto tracking and IVS camera to choose?
What would be a good spot for any of these cameras in the drive way.

Thanks a lot! I appreciate itIMG-20170711-WA0051.jpg
Here is the picture of the house

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

Just joined the forum and wanted to say hi. I have no prior experience with cameras except for a wifi camera I installed as a nannycam. I am interested in setting up a NVR and around 4 IP cameras for a new house that is under construction...
Welcome Bludoc,

please do check out the discussion we've been having with another new member
New Home - First Security System

btw - is the Drywall up yet? If not I would figureout a way ASAP to get in there and pull some cat6 to where you need it.

Thank You

Last edited:

bludoc

n3wb
Reaction score
Welcome Bludoc,

please do check out the discussion we've been having with another new member
New Home - First Security System

btw - is the Drywall up yet? If not I would figureout a way ASAP to get in there and pull some cat6 to where you need it.

Thank You