Help building IP camera system

olli

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
So I am a newbie here, hi all :) I consider to build an IP camera system. It would consist of four IP cameras, all outside. I have planned to use PoE, so I would just need to run RJ45 wires to cameras (probably they'll also need some PoE adaptor if they don't support PoE directly). I want to be able to monitor cameras outside of my local network, I think this can simply be done by port forwarding. It is also important that the cameras record, I have planned to use Raspberry Pi model B (which I already have) and USB storage for recording. I would want 720p quality.

So please tell me is Raspberry powerful enough for this? Or should I consider some NVR solution? Please recommend one.
And of course I would like to have your recommendations on cameras? I live in Finland, so I'd prefer to order inside EU to avoid taxes, but I am more than happy to consider China/Hongkong, as well (cheaper prices =))

Thank you a lot!

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
@olli. Welcome to the forum..look at hikvision or dahua ip cameras...there are lots of posts about these...they can write directly to NAS if you want...otherwise you can use hikvision free vms software...

Last edited by a moderator:

olli

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Thank you for your message. Like I said in my post, I would like to use external USB storage. Actually, I don't have a NAS and wouldn't like to get one. I have also heard that IP cameras don't have enough capacity to do the motion detecton (it consumes too much cpu/memory). Is this still true or just an old rumor?

Does that Hikvision free vms software run in Raspberry pi?

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
hi,thanks for clarification. What is your opinion on this kit, would it be suitable for me?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/4CH-NVR-Security-System-with-4-Outdoor-Indoor-IP-IR-Weatherproof-720P-Cameras-/201237946265