Help choosing between 2 cameras.

reeves1985

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Both good cameras,

Depends what system you already have

If you have a dahua NVR go dahua
Hikvision NVR go hik.

I've no first hand experience with hikvision low light stuff but I do with dahua and it's great.

I do own hik cameras and hik NVR and not had a problem with them.

8tpg

n3wb
Reaction score
Both good cameras,

Depends what system you already have

If you have a dahua NVR go dahua
Hikvision NVR go hik.

I've no first hand experience with hikvision low light stuff but I do with dahua and it's great.

I do own hik cameras and hik NVR and not had a problem with them.
Thanks for the reply. I have a HikVision k series nvr and other HikVision cameras. Didn’t think it would be an issue using dahua cam on the HikVision nvr If I change the dahua ip address and set it up as onvif? It is setup over lan connected to ubiquity poe Smith.

The dahua is about 25% cheaper which is why I’m looking at it. I couldn’t really find much info on it although I did find Review-Dahua IPC-HDW2231RP-ZS Starlight Camera-Varifocal which seems to be the turret version of this camera.

Is the hikvision a lot better than the dahua for 25% more. Specs look similar but I’m not 100% that I’m not missing something.? Will the dahua work on the hikvision NVR with onvif?

Thanks again with the help.

reeves1985

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Thanks for the reply. I have a HikVision k series nvr and other HikVision cameras. Didn’t think it would be an issue using dahua cam on the HikVision nvr If I change the dahua ip address and set it up as onvif? It is setup over lan connected to ubiquity poe Smith.

The dahua is about 25% cheaper which is why I’m looking at it. I couldn’t really find much info on it although I did find Review-Dahua IPC-HDW2231RP-ZS Starlight Camera-Varifocal which seems to be the turret version of this camera.