Help with camera and wireless setup

Reaction score
Hello,

Let me start by saying I am completely new to Ubiquiti and I am trying to get everything in order before I start the installation. I am trying to improve WIFI service in my home to include a detached garage approximately 50 feet away from the main building. My current ISP is Verizon FIOS and the provided gateway sucks. I am also running several IP cameras Hard wired to the Cisco switch. I will be installing another POE switch to the detached garage and need help choosing one that will power everything.

I have the following:
1x Ubiquiti USG (main house)
1x Cisco SF300-24PP POE+ switch (main house)
3x Ubiquiti AP-PRO (2 main house) (1 Detached Garage)
2x Ubiquiti LOCO M5 (1 main house) (1 Detached Garage)

1x Ubiquiti Network POE 48v Adapter (POE-48-24w-g) for AP-PRO in Garage

I be connecting one of the LOCO M5 to POE (switch) which then be connected to one of the AC-PRO via Ubiquiti Adapter to provide power. The reason for the switch in the detached garage is because I will also be running IP security cameras and need the extra ports.

What would be a good POE+ switch that will power two cameras (dahua non PTZ) the loco M5 and AC Pro ?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Kawboy12R

Known around here
Reaction score
Ubiquiti uses their own POE. It's not 48v, so any POE switch you get for cams won't power the Locos. The other gear I haven't used but make sure it's not 24v Ubiquiti-only POE. The Locos come with their own injectors though so that's not a big problem. Just be careful mixing and matching your Ubiquiti gear with 802.3af and 802.3at (48v industry standard POE and POE+).