Help with camera POE and design

ctfortner

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello all, I could use a little help if you have time. I have been reading up for a couple of weeks and I am still not sure the best way to do what I am trying to do. I am new to this for sure, and only own a couple of Arlo's at this point.

The mission:

- I want to add 4-6 cams around the house. I am looking at turrets and/or bullets (hikvision/dahua) I am absolutely open to specific models. Would like to stay under $150 each

- I want to have 24/7 recording, live streaming, a week or 2 of playback

When I built the house I installed cat 5e to every room in the house as well as the main attic (shown in the crude drawing). These are all home runs back to a central closet where I have a leviton punch down panel.
In my crude drawing, you can see the attic area. I have 1 cat5e cable in there now that I can use. I want to add 3-4 cams out of this attic area to have cams facing both directions of the front of house, as well as back of house. I am not sure of the best way to handle this as far as power, connections, etc. There is a light in the attic so I could probably wire an outlet and power the cams, or should I go POE with switch or injectors? That is where I get lost.

I have the same issue in the front porch area. There is 1 cat5e in the gameroom, and from there it would be fairly easy to run a cat 5 to the attic above the front porch. it is pretty open in there, and has door access. I would like 2 cams on the front porch area. Again, not sure of the best way to connect and power them since i will have 1 cat5 cable to run 2 or more cams.

I know there is multiple ways this can be done so i wanted to ask the experts before I over complicate or more importantly, over spend on things I dont need. I'm just not sure if I need injectors, multi port POE switch, an NVR that provides POE, or what. Thanks for any help with this.

house.jpg
house2.jpg

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score