Help with IP Camera purchase

mike2874

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Guys I’m pretty new to IP cameras with my only experience being my GBF PL960M WiFi IP Doorbell http://gbfelectronics.com/product/gbf-pl960m/. With GBF’s tech help I’ve played around with the camera’s online settings some… but I’m definitely a novice. The camera provides a live feed of the front of my house (Integrated dual-stream full-featured 720P IP camera offers a 110 degree wide viewing angle) so satisfied with that. I was using GBF’s software until one of their techs suggested trying Blue Iris since it could do so many other things. It’s pretty complicated to me and I don’t understand many of the settings but I’m up & running with the software.

Anyway since I’m now using BI I’m thinking about getting an inexpensive ($130 or lower) camera for our backyard. I’m wanting to mount it on the back wall of the house above our deck so it shoots out covering our yard. There is an outside ac outlet fairly close to where I think I want to mount the camera, but mounted low not high which would require running an extension cord to the higher mounted camera. I plan on getting a wireless camera and running off WiFi. The camera needs to be compatible with BI.

In order not to limit my choices can POE cameras also run via an AC adapter? I’m thinking it would be easier for me to plug in a camera to the AC outlet then to have to run an Ethernet cable from the router. What do you think of these IP cameras:

Amcrest ProHD Outdoor IP2M-842 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B019WXCX28/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=1F68O3YMMET9I&coliid=I39GEKPR6G13XZ&psc=1

Amcrest ProHD Outdoor IP3M-943B
https://www.amazon.com/Amcrest-Outdoor-3-Megapixel-Wireless-Security/dp/B01I01QLTE/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1472574264&sr=8-1&keywords=IP3M-943B

I’m also open to other camera suggestions since my IP camera knowledge is limited.

As an Amazon Associate IPCamTalk earns from qualifying purchases.

Del Boy