Hi from a newbie from Austin, TX

TheE

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Hello everyone! I've been reading the Wiki and Cliff Notes over and over for the last couple of weeks... My goal is to learn from the resources and you all great folks within this forum to ultimately install 4-8 cameras around the house.

Right now, as a totally rookie to networking and IoT, it seems I just get more confused after each time I read the Wiki or Cliff Notes... Mostly on the configuration sections. I'm sure this is somewhat common, but how long does it take for most noobs to figure this IP Cam stuff out?

I'm trying to stay as patient as possible to learn, but it's becoming difficult as a house a couple of blocks over just got broken into... And what's really stressing me is that I'm a firefighter gone 24 hours at a time leaving my wife and 2 y/o by themselves.

Thanks again, everyone!

Last edited:

aristobrat

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Welcome, and thanks for having gone through the Wiki and Cliff Notes!

Reply back with which configuration sections are giving you a problem and we can see what we can do to help clarify.

Regarding your wife and 2 y/o being home alone, ... if you don't already have one, consider a security system as well. IP cameras don't replace security systems in regards to sounding an alarm (or calling the police) if someone tries to break in while you're away <which will hopefully never happen>.

TheE

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Appreciate it very much, aristobrat. I totally understand IP cameras do not replace security systems... We do have firearms within our home which my wife is very capable of using... She can shoot with the best of them. But looking into the cameras with alert/notifications to at least hopefully, give her a heads up. All the security systems we looked at have a minute or two delays before calling the police so she and I know whatever is going to happen (hopefully it will NEVER happen), more than likely she'll be by herself.