Hi from the Great Nanny State

awsum140

Known around here
Reaction score
I'm in southern NJ, farm country not refinery country. I've been running Blue Iris for about four years and recently found this forum. I've learned more in two weeks than I learned in those four years. I am sort of a maverick because I run other programs on my BI server, folding@home to be specific.

I think the most important thing I've learned here, so far, is to use quality cameras instead of the normal stuff found on Amazon or FleaBay and buy them from known dealers. My current system is only four cameras. Three of them are sort of "no name" and one is a GrandStream. I'll be buying strictly Dahua in the future to expand the system and replace the "no name" stuff.

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
I'm in southern NJ, farm country not refinery country. I've been running Blue Iris for about four years and recently found this forum. I've learned more in two weeks than I learned in those four years. I am sort of a maverick because I run other programs on my BI server, folding@home to be specific.

I think the most important thing I've learned here, so far, is to use quality cameras instead of the normal stuff found on Amazon or FleaBay and buy them from known dealers. My current system is only four cameras. Three of them are sort of "no name" and one is a GrandStream. I'll be buying strictly Dahua in the future to expand the system and replace the "no name" stuff.
Welcome Awsum140,

Thanks for joining the conversation, hope to see you share your experiences here.

btw - in case you have not yet seen these
It's easy to get swamped with information here, so I wanted to share some notes with you

Please check out @giomania 's notes:
Dahua Starlight Varifocal Turret (IPC-HDW5231R-Z)

I have also made notes which are a summary of a lot of the reading I've been doing here,:
Looking for some advice and direction!

Have fun joining us here.

awsum140

Known around here
Reaction score