Hi - looking for security camera advice

MattR

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi,

I do IT for a small non profit that is interested in setting up security camera(s) and I'm looking for advice.

First, about me. I write software for a living. I use linux and have no issues, say, in building raspberry pi boxes. That said, whatever I create I want to make sure that other people can use it. I have not done much with security cameras before, other than using Nest.

Next, about the non-profit and our needs. We are a small congregation that meets in a rented facility on weekends. We are writing a grant to improve our security. Our budget for camera equipment (my part of this grant) is around a thousand dollars.

We only need cameras running at the times we meet and they need to be put up and taken down every weekend. The people doing it can plug things in, turn them on, and use a phone app to check that they work, and that's about it. The videos would be used by law enforcement to identify anyone that does anything suspicious or outright illegal. We always have a police officer around at the time we need to run cameras. So, the cameras are not for preventing anything (other than a camera will make someone think twice) but rather they are for looking at video afterwards. Afterwards might mean 2 minutes afterward or it might mean up to 6 months later. So, we would like the ability to look back, quickly, at what happened within the past hour but also look back up to 6 months ago later in the week. We want to record everything and not have some software decide when to record and when to not. We would have, at most, 12 hours a month of video for each camera. Right now, I'm told we only need one camera. My guess is, if we can set up at least two it would be better. They would both be inside. We would like 1080p resolution.