Hikvision 7608 NVR vs Synology Surveillance Station

Reaction score
Hi All, newbie here with some system design questions.

I recently installed 3 Hikvision DS-2CD2032-I bullet cameras for my home surveillance system. The cameras are connected to gigabit network switch through POE injector. On the recording side I have Hikvision 7608 NVR connected to the same network (I am not using NVR's POE ports).

I really like the cameras (image quality, variety of settings, etc.), but I am not very impressed with the NVR. The native interface is clunky and not intuitive, remote web access is difficult due to Mac plugin problems (could not get it to work so far), lastly I don't really like the NVR's motion detection settings - unlike cameras it doesn't seem to have expert mode and I am having hard time setting it up to record only 'real' motions instead of almost everything (snow, rain, etc.).

I also have Synology 211j NAS, had it for a few years, really like it, but it is getting old and I am going to upgrade it soon. I tried playing a bit with the Surveillance Station and it seems to be more user friendly, but it runs way too slow on 211j. My thought was to upgrade to Synology DS414, switch to SSS and get rid of the NVR.

My question: what are the pros and cons of switching from dedicated NVR to SSS? Would I lose a lot of functionality by making this switch?

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
@Trespassers W Welcome to the forum! You might want to try setting up the line cross detection or intrusion detection in the cams to eliminate some false alerts...