Hikvision camera incorrect password

Discussion in 'Hikvision' started by bodlet2001, Sep 24, 2017.

Share This Page

  1. bodlet2001

    bodlet2001 n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good evening, one of my cameras has had a fit and now I cannot log into it or do anything with it. I have tried both password reset tools without success.

    The camera is a DS-2CD2332 on version V5.4.0 build 160530

    Anyone have any other ideas?

    Cheers

    Paul
     
  2. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    6,783
    Likes Received:
    3,210
    I don't think that model has a reset button inside, so I suggest you try to use the tftp method to upload the same firmware version it already has back onto it. I believe that will reset it to defaults.
     
    bodlet2001 likes this.
  3. Bokeh

    Bokeh n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    4
    can you access the cameras web interface in a browser still? does it give you a timeout for entering the wrong password

    how long have you had the camera?
    did you buy the camera from a authorized hikvision retailer, or some other place like amazon or ebay, etc..
    did the camera "have a fit" after you did something like update firmware?

    have you tried seeing if there's a reset button on the circuit board inside the cameras housing?


    Have you tried Hikvisions Batch Configuration Tool?
    Hikvision USA
     
    bodlet2001 likes this.
  4. bodlet2001

    bodlet2001 n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    good evening
    first of all thank you for the replies, Bokeh- the cameras were purchased through an authorised hikvision retailer, about 18 months ago.
    I have checked and there is no reset button inside the camera from what I can see.
    I can see the camera in a web browser when connected through a POE switch, also it can be seen in the GUI on my tv.
    I have tried to get in touch with them about this issue and drawn a blank, but that seems to be the norm from what I read, if I had purchased a lot more stuff then maybe they would take some action?
    I have tried the Hikvisions Batch Configuration Tool as suggested but get the same response, nice little tool though!!

    bp2008
    please explain the method TFPT as I am confused. there are so many posts about this sort of issue it is easy to get lost in one of the many posts.

    regards

    Paul
     
  5. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    6,783
    Likes Received:
    3,210
    I don't know the tftp method. I only know of it.
     
    bodlet2001 likes this.
  6. bodlet2001

    bodlet2001 n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    what do I have to do?
     
  7. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Known around here

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    8,096
    Likes Received:
    2,171
    Location:
    Scotland
    catseyenu likes this.
  8. epcjay

    epcjay Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    23
    You may want to email Hikvision support for assistance in resetting the camera password if you bought it from an authorized dealer as they were very helpful for me before touching the firmware route above. One of my clients had their system hacked and passwords reset so I emailed hikvision and they provided the instructions to resetting the cameras within 2 hours of email backing and forth with troubleshooting. Here in Canada, they have a 3 year warranty.