Hikvision DS-7616NI-SE/P & more than 8 cams

Reaction score
Hi. My name is Mike Johnson and I'm new here on IP Cam Talk. I've already found this to be a valuable resource and I've learned a tremendous amount from information here. I'm also new to IP cameras, having just replace an old analog system with a Hikvision DS-7616NI-SE/P NVR and a bunch of Hikvision DS-2CD2132F-IWS cameras. I've not had any trouble getting the system going, but I've run into an issue I didn't expect, so I'd like to ask if this is expected behavior.

The Hikvision DS-7616NI-SE/P NVR is a 16-channel NVR with a built-in 8-port POE switch. Reading the manual and various Hikvision Technical Bulletins, I expected to be able to connect a POE Ethernet switch to the NVR's internal switch and add cameras 9-16. Alas, this doesn't seem to work. It appears the NVR is limited to only having 8 cameras on the built-in camera subnet of 192.164.254.xxx. I can add cameras 9-16 as long as they are on the LAN side of the NVR (my home network).

Is this the expected behavior of Hikvision DS-7616NI-SE/P? It's not a huge deal for me to have the additional cameras on the LAN side. My plan was to have 9 or 10 cams total, so that's only two cams on my LAN. It does makes using WiFi on the cameras easier, but it also puts a lot of traffic across my home network that I'd rather not have there.

Is there any way to have more than 8 cams on the 192.168.254.xxx network?

Thanks in advance for your wisdom!
Mike Johnson

Oleglevsha

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Specifications
16CH NVR
1. 16CH Plug&Play
2. 8CH D1/16CH 720P/8CH 1080P/1CH 5MP
2. HDMI, 8CH PoE, 2 HDDs up to 8TB
4. Rack mounted
you need to limit the resolution of the cameras up to 1 megapixel

Last edited by a moderator:

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Reaction score
Interesting question - I don't think it's been heard (or tried?) before on here.
Apologies if this is what you've already tried - but this is what I'd do to test this out: