Hikvision NVR IP CAMS LIVE VIEW From LAPTOP, PC and ANDROID PHONE

johnfsd

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi all,
I am very new to cctv cameras. As i needed a system i have purchased the

DS-7608NI-E2/8P/A with a 4TB hard drive
And some DS-2CD2142FWD-IS 4mm cameras and brackets.

Very pleased with them

The following is my basic understanding and a basic of how i have progressed with the system on my first day and which may help another newbie, but also please help me if i am wrong in my thinking and how i can change any settings that may help live viewing options

I can view all cameras in the NVR
I have setup port forwarding on router and can login on laptops and pcs to view live cameras using the correct encryption key (as the enable stream encryption is setup on the NVR). It took me a while to work out this was stopping me seeing a live stream at first, until i found where i needed to type the encryption key that can only be found on the NVR not logging in remote.

I can login from my andriod samsung s7, but can not view the live cameras as it asks for a plugin, am I correct in thinking it is no longer possible to view live cameras on an android using availble web browsers (google, firefox, puffin etc.) as I can not get a plugin and believe due to security updates on android browsers the older hikvision plugin no longer works with them?. So i gave up trying to get a live stream when i came to this conclusion and moved to the following.....

So to resolve not being able to view cameras on an android phone web browser I downloaded iVMS-4500.
I can login and see settings, but it would not give me a live camera connection; like the android browsers but this time it didnt ask for a plugin, it produced error 8200, when I turned off enable steam encryption on the NVR so no encryption key is needed, the live view works on iVMS-4500 and i no longer get the error.