HikVision SMB/CIFS Issues - A Summary of Fixes

SamboNZ

n3wb
Reaction score
I have just wasted a few hours of my life wrestling with SMB/CIFS formatting issues with my Hikvision DS-2CD2332-I v5.2.5 build 141201 and since the information required to fix it was scattered across the entire Internet I thought I'd create a post to consolidate it all to hopefully save others the same pain in future.

I am by no means an expert at this and I've only ever setup one camera, so please feel free to contribute with either additional tips, or corrections if you think I have my facts wrong! All constructive input gladly accepted! If any new / corrected information comes to light I will update this post to make it as accurate as possible.

This information may be relevant to Hikvision models other than mine, but I can't confirm / test this.

kyphos has written up a great guide for OSX users which builds on this information.

The Unbendable Rules

1) You must use a drive which is dedicated to the camera recordings. (Also see 'Flexible Rule' #2)
- If any changes are made to the amount of free space on the recordings drive, other than by the camera, the storage status will revert to 'uninitialized'.
- NOTE: In this case, 'drive' refers to a 'logical' drive, not necessarily an entire 'physical' drive, ie; you can use a partition which is part of a larger drive if you like.
- NOTE 2: As per rpc's suggestion, you can also use virtual drives such as a VHD or VHDX volume in Windows, which allows for additional flexibility and removes the requirement to dedicate an entire physical volume or partition for recording.

2) To successfully 'format' a target storage 'HDD', the camera must be able to delete ALL files and folders underneath the shared folder to make it COMPLETELY EMPTY.
- This means that the target share on a Windows system cannot be the root of the drive, because there are hidden system folders which the camera can't delete and so the format will fail.