Hikvision software superior to Dahua...?

LittleBrother

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Until six months ago I had, for about a year, a Dahua 2 MP dome setup. The camera itself was nice; reliable, solid, good picture. My main points of complaint were its mobile apps were terrible (basically didn't work) and more to the point, since I don't have a PC with NVR and only a network FTP location, I was relying on the camera's embedded detection and it was not reliable; even on a really high sensitivity sometimes it missed things, and often saw things that weren't there. I also found that the on-camera web site was buggy and didn't work reliably, so setting it up was a pain. I realize most of these issues would be solved with PC-based software, but I want to avoid that. I've been using a Dropcam Pro for the last 6 months and its software is polished and reliable, but recently the timeline has stopped working properly (common issue last two months at Dropcam's site after they released their zone update), and given that IP cameras continue to get better I wouldn't mind going back to the free-per-month and superior picture of a wired camera.

I've been looking at Acti, Hikvision...Hikvision has some nice cameras in the ~$200 range, but is the firmware better than Dahua's? Does the on-camera software work nicely, properly configurable (and reliably so)? Mobile apps are more than an afterthought...?

Thanks in advance!

bp2008

Staff member
Reaction score
In my opinion Hikvision's firmware is a lot better than Dahua's. I know Dahua has been improving, but their firmware is usually really hard to acquire. By comparison, Hikvision firmware is readily available.