How do I view SD recordings from just the SD card?

Mosquito

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi there. Sorry I'm really new to this security camera stuff.

I bought a Hikvision DS-2CD2432F-I (Without Wifi) to use as a standalone camera that records to a SD card. The venue being monitored has no network, wifi, or computers.

The plan was if anything looked suspicious, we can pop the SD card out of the camera, take it home and view the footage. (I just assumed it would be like a normal camera or dashcam. (Files just stored in mp4.)

I set the camera up over ethernet, and have it all working. But I can't for the life of me work out how I can view the footage from just the SD card - it seems hikvision use a proprietary file system. If I take the whole camera home and plug it in via ethernet I can see the footage via the web browser, but this isn't ideal, especially as I'm not going to be the one monitoring the footage and it needs to be pretty straight forward.

I searched it up and apparently there was some software by Hikvision called "Local Playback" that enabled you to view the footage straight from the SD card. However, it doesn't appear to be in existance anymore. (or I just can't find it)

So is there a way to view the footage from just the SD card? Or have I bought the wrong camera for the job.

Thanks for your time.

Trax95008

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I believe I have seen a download for “local playback” (or something like that) I will see if I can find it and link you to it. Otherwise, your options are to use the camera like you discovered already, or get yourself an NVR that manages all this for you!

Gul-Dukat

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Have you tried the "Remote Backup" option which is contained withing the Hikvision Tools (V1.2.1.2) program?

DOWNLOAD PORTAL

At the bottom of the screen, when you hover the mouse over the Remote Backup icon the text displays the following; Ive not personally used or even tried it but might be worth a look.