How I got my Nestcam to work in Blue Iris

mb520205

n3wb
Reaction score
I wish I would have found this yesterday. I had to spend several hours, but finally figured it out. I made a step by step as well. Good job. :)

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
The problem with this solution is that it constantly streams your nestcam, upload then download 24/7...nestcam is simply designed to be used like this.

fleetmack

n3wb
Reaction score
The problem with this solution is that it constantly streams your nestcam, upload then download 24/7...nestcam is simply designed to be used like this.
Sad, but very true. All IP cams can be network hogs, as we all know, and this solution certainly doesn't help it, but it does get it integrated with BI, which is all I was trying to show.

I'm new to BI, so am not sure if there's a way to modify this further or not. I haven't yet investigated how long it takes to boot up a Nestcam, but I was debating plugging in a smart plug, and then linking that to a z-wave motion sensor so when the motion sensor is set off, it turns on power to the camera. but if the camera takes a while to boot, that kind of defeats the purpose.

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Sad, but very true. All IP cams can be network hogs, as we all know, and this solution certainly doesn't help it, but it does get it integrated with BI, which is all I was trying to show.

I'm new to BI, so am not sure if there's a way to modify this further or not. I haven't yet investigated how long it takes to boot up a Nestcam, but I was debating plugging in a smart plug, and then linking that to a z-wave motion sensor so when the motion sensor is set off, it turns on power to the camera. but if the camera takes a while to boot, that kind of defeats the purpose.