How to bring all the wires down to the NVR?

ah6tyfour

n3wb
Reaction score
I'm new to this whole PoE camera thing, but have read a ton of threads here as well as the wiki. What I realized I never figured out is how best to bring all the CAT6 cables to the NVR.

My place has attic access, so my plan is to run CAT6 through the attic directly to the spots on the exterior where the cameras will go. So once that is done, I should have around 12 CAT6 cables (six locations for cameras with two CAT6 terminals each for redundancy) that then need to make it to one of the rooms in my house and connected to the NVR.

How does one bring so many cables down into a room without creating a huge hole in the wall? I figure the NVR or switch would be in one of the bedrooms being used as an office and would be sitting on a desk, so it seems like all these cables would have to come down to the bottom of the wall and then get extracted so they can be hidden behind the desk as they run up to the NVR.

I spent all this time daydreaming about where to put the cameras and how I'm going to run the wires that I completely neglected to think about the other end.

(edited to reflect my lack of knowledge of Blue Iris...)

Last edited:

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Reaction score
I figure the NVR and the attached computer to run Blue Iris will just be sitting on a desk
Blue Iris and an NVR? Usually it's one or the other.
If Blue Iris then you'll need a POE switch that all the camera cables terminate at. This can be located where it suits the cable topology - and where the climate and accessibility works OK. And there will then be a single cable back to your LAN core switch / router.
If an NVR without POE ports, the above comments apply also.
If an NVR with POE ports, all the camera cables will have to terminate at it's location, with similar considerations as for the POE switch, with the additional constraint that you may also want to hook up an HDMI connection to the NVR.

ah6tyfour

n3wb