HP elitedesk 800 g2 issues

Discussion in 'NVR's, DVR's & Computers' started by Dave82, Feb 13, 2019 at 9:06 PM.

Share This Page

  1. Dave82

    Dave82 n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hi guys, I have had my system running for a fair while with no issues.

    Yesterday I think I may have either had a power surge because the power went out for a few seconds and everything came back on except my CCTV PC.

    The green light still comes on on the motherboard but pressing the power but gives me nothing.

    I have looked into how to test the psu but everything on you tube shows how to test a 20/24 pin psu where as the hp propriety psu is only a 6 pin/4 flat pin and a 4 pin for the fan so I have nfi how to test it.

    My question is. Do I source a power supply from some where and go from there or should I use all my components and get a std basic mITX (h110) board to suit the i5 6500 with a normal psu and another case.

    I'm just guessing if I go this way then I will have to buy blue iris again and start from scratch.

    The only thing I would like to upgrade is the cooling as I hate how loud the thing is. My gaming PC is so much quieter.

    Any ideas guys?
     
  2. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    28,360
    Likes Received:
    8,058
    Why would you think you need to buy blue iris again?
    It cannot be an hp optiplex...dell makes the optiplex.
    Both dell and hp pc's are VERY quiet unless you or the prior owner reconfigured the bios to keep the fans at full speed at all times.
    Was the system plugged into a surge protector?
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2019 at 9:17 PM
  3. Dave82

    Dave82 n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yeah sorry about that, it's an elitedesk 800 g2 with an i5 6500 CPU. No it didn't have a surge protector. I'm wondering if the psu crapping itself caused the power in my house to cut momentarily.
     
  4. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    28,360
    Likes Received:
    8,058
    No doubt a surge fried the system. It could be just the PSU, who knows. You must connect any pc/router/switches etc to surge protectors.
    The power supply did not and could not cause any problems to your house power, its the other way around.
    You cannot test a power supply with a paper clip despite the youtube videos. The test might tell you that its 100 percent dead, but even if it passes that test it can be bad. You need a power supply tester or multimeter.
     
  5. Dave82

    Dave82 n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yeah I have a multi meter I just don't what I should be testing and what the readings should be.

    It's weird that everything else in the house is fine. Well as far as I can tell anyway.
     
  6. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    28,360
    Likes Received:
    8,058
    That is very common surges work in mysterious ways. Buy a power supply tester. If the unit is still under warranty call HP, its next business day service.
     
  7. Dave82

    Dave82 n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    8
    I reckon I bought the unit second hand as refurbished. So no warranty there.
     
  8. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    28,360
    Likes Received:
    8,058
    That is not the case. Google hp warranty status, type in your serial. If the warranty is still valid you are good to go.
     
  9. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    28,360
    Likes Received:
    8,058
    First thing on your shopping list should be a surge protector from a name brand that also has ethernet protection (many are only 10/100, so confirm gigabit).
     
  10. Dave82

    Dave82 n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    8
    When you say ethernet protection do you mean for every line? or just the one that runs into the PC?
     
  11. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    28,360
    Likes Received:
    8,058
    Just the pc and the line coming out of your modem.
     
  12. Dave82

    Dave82 n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    8
    Seeing as i'm using all 4 ports out of my modem running to different PC's and switches which then go to TV's and other devices I should probably look into running 4 of them I guess.
     
  13. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    28,360
    Likes Received:
    8,058
    It seems you are using a modem router combo.
    If that is the case, many surge protectors have coax connections so you can do it that way. In some instances that will attenuate the signal, but most of the time its fine. Installing 4x ethernet surge protectors is going to be a mess.