HTTPS certs.

LeeH

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Why does IE and Firefox have a fit when you connect over https? Are the Hik certs out of date? No good? :sick:

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
its because you not have not paid/signed certs installed on the camera.. the only way you dont get a web browser to throw a fit over your cert is to buy a cert for each device (certs are tied to hostname/ip) and install it on there every year when it expires.

Its not worth it, your cameras are not running an online eCommerce site.. so just click through the warning, it is still encrypted.

LeeH

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Great thanks.

While you're here.....:D.....I have set up a VPN on my NAS and can connect fine. How do I connect to my cams UI without the ports been open? I'm a beginner...

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
same way you do when your on your Wifi.. when VPN is connected everything on your LAN should be avilable on there internal IP's

LeeH

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
But I connect by 'me.ddns.net:port number'

I end up at my NAS UI unless I use the cam's https port. :mad-new:

Last edited by a moderator:

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
no you dont, you use me.ddns.net to connect to your VPN from outside your network, you use something like 192.168.1.100 to connect to your camera when your on your local network.

LeeH

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I thought the idea was to connect from outside my LAN via a VPN? I cannot use my LAN IP from outside obvioulsy and using a VPN in my LAN I presume is pointless.

If I connect using my DDNS I end up in my NAS UI via the VPN as thats where the VPN server is. It defaults to my NAS ports and I cannot access my IP cams UI via my NAS.

Unless the address is me.ddns.net/my internal IP?

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score