I am a noob

mripman

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I bought a Lorex ip security system in 2021 for $800.00 dollars. NVR model is N882A6 and the 4 cameras are LNE9242B. I thought I knew something about security cameras but upon discovering this website, I know nothing. There is so much information on this website. One of the main reasons for buying my security camera system was to get motion detection alerts to my phone but until after buying the system did I realize how bad the Lorex cloud app is. Bottom line is I want to get a completely whole new system. I don’t know where to start and I don’t know anything about security cameras or software or sensor size or any of that. Budget is $2,000 US dollars. If I don’t need to spend that much money then great. If I could get pointed in right direction or where to start or what to do, I would appreciate the help. I think I want 4-8 cameras but I’m not an expert. I would like to get whatever is best or great or good. I just want a solid system. Thank you for any help or direction!

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Welcome!

Another person coming here after running Lorex for a year or so.

As stated in Post #2, many of us have gone to Blue Iris after going down the NVR route.

Lorex is made by Dahua, which makes many brands, so if you are disappointed with their app, you will likely be disappointed with the app of other NVRs.

When I was looking at replacing an existing NVR, once I realized that not all NVRs are created equal (the bandwidth it can process is a huge limiting factor), and once I priced out a good one, it was cheaper to buy a refurbished computer, POE switch and BI than an NVR.