I am very New to LPR Camera and Cameras in general

tech101

Known around here
Reaction score
Need Advice So I am Thinking about getting and LPR camera system form my home so I can capture Plates going thru our residential street

I am debating either to get this one

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Dahua-2MP-Full-HD-WDR-Network-IR-Starlight-Bullet-CameraIPC-HFW5231E-Z12-free-DHL-shipping/32804998458.html

or

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01KBJCLVK/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Please advise even if there is any better than this My range is About $500 .. Please let me know Also what software to use to automatically record these plates ?

As an Amazon Associate IPCamTalk earns from qualifying purchases.

tech101

Known around here
Reaction score
Sorry about creating multiple threads earlier The create thread button was stuck. Sorry !

tech101

Known around here
Reaction score
Also If it can have software built in maybe I can go up to $800-1000 range so that way all I would need to do is install the camera and setup and not worry about Someone wiggling around finding a software to make it work..

Also I am posting a distance picture of what I think How I should mount the camera if someone has a better idea let me know of mounting the camera in order to get the plates.

Last edited:

tech101

Known around here
Reaction score
Its rather oblique view, if possible reduce the angle.
Yes, That is what My Initial thought was and still is But I am not sure where else I can put the camera .. I mean I can add a pole on front Yard and then add a camera but that will for sure raise the price of installation up because I will then have to have wire run underground up to the pole and it might not look pretty just a camera sitting on a pole.

Any ideas where else you think I can put the camera ?

tech101

Known around here
Reaction score
Try to get as small of an angle of attack as possible

View attachment 35151