i5 3570s for BI?

jcraigcx

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hey guys. I've been lurking and researching for a long time and finally have my first question. I'm leaning heavily towards the 2mp Dahlua Starlight Varifocals and Blue Iris. Probably running no more than 8 cameras for starters. I'm not opposed to upgrading the computer as my needs grow.

I may be able to get my hands on an Optiplex 910 i5 3570s with 4GB RAM (I can upgrade the RAM) and Windows for next to nothing. This is older than the recommended models in the Wiki and while I know I should avoid "T" models, I don't know about this "S" model.

Any advice?

Yojinbo

n3wb
Reaction score
jcraigcx,

Welcome from another newb. I am NOT a CPU expert but I just went through this "What PC for BI" scenario in my installation and I think the chip you list has one "strike" against it at the start: the age of the chip family. As I understand it, a lot of the BI synergy with modern chip sets relate to the implementation of Quick Sync Video. I Think your i5 3750 falls into the Ivy Bridge falls into supporting (old) V2 of Quick Sync Video. I think that this this generation of QSV is before support for hardware-accelerated H.264 was implemented [Citation]. As I understand it the real gains come from the hardware acceleration of video streams. So without that acceleration you should see higher CUP utilization since this machine cannot "farm out" that work to the dedicated chip like a newer i5 could.

Now, I am really new at this so if an experienced hand comes along - please consider my "help" an expression of goodwill and not a flexing of expertise. I only installed BI Yesterday on my nearly new Dell.

On the other hand, FREE has a nice ring to it. This machine might get you started (and getting started can be half of life sometimes). It might come down to how open you are to replacing this free machine with another one if the CPU gets bogged down after testing.