If you could start all over again with a new IPC setup...

kyadmin

n3wb
Reaction score
If you could start all over again with a new IPC setup... and doing it RIGHT was ahead of cost priority wise, what would you do different than your current setup? First time poster, long time lurker. Sorry I'm long winded.

I am an IT guy by day. We recently purchased a new house and I am in the process of basically remodeling the entire house in one way or another. I have ran CAT 5e all over the house, in most cases multiple cables, and I am currently getting ready to start placing cameras outside. We have some frequent petty crime in our neighborhood (mainly people leaving their cars unlocked) so I'm not necessarily looking for things to solve a specific problem but more from an "in case" perspective. I have installed many IP cams in various customer offices and some houses, but never really had the opportunity to "do it right" nor would I claim that I am a surveillance expert by any stretch. I believe that every time I have done this it was for a specific reason; employee safety, or for liability reasons etc. Some cameras were limited in funds and the quality was horrible (not my choice) but it works so they still function and use them. I have never really had the opportunity to do it the right way.