Increasing quality of multi-view from app/web

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by bitNine, Jan 10, 2017.

Share This Page

  1. bitNine

    bitNine n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    5
    I've contacted Ken about the poor quality of the multi-camera view in the web browser and iOS app (individual cams look great). However, I'm not understanding the reply I got form him. Ken said, "How do you have the group image set on the group settings page? This is the gears icon beneath the group selection on the PC software."

    I haven't set up any groups, but looking at the groups option on the general tab of the camera, there is no "gears icon beneath the group selection". So now I'm completely confused. I feel like I'm looking in the wrong place.
     
  2. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    19,874
    Likes Received:
    4,137
    It is to the left of the ptz controls...Select all cameras click on the gear and increase the resolution... There are a few threads with step by step instructions
     
    bitNine likes this.
  3. bitNine

    bitNine n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    5
    I definitely looked for threads before posting, but did not find anything that really detailed where these settings are. Also, the help file contains nothing about settings in this area. I literally walked through every mention of the word group in the help file looking for this. The reason I didn't see it is because I have PTZ controls hidden because I have no PTZ cams. Thanks! I knew it had to be something simple.
     
  4. Ryan00

    Ryan00 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    52
    So this is the live view resolution?
     
  5. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    19,874
    Likes Received:
    4,137
    its for the multicamera live view using the remote webserver
     
  6. curado

    curado Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    upload_2017-1-13_18-47-4.png

    My understanding after combing through the help file on the same issue is that Blue Iris combines the group of cameras into one frame before sending to the remote viewer. I think HikVision calls this "channel 0 encoding." It's more efficient than sending 10 individual streams to the remote viewer. The gear icon lets you specify the frame size.

    Couple of questions this raises. I'm uncertain if the remote viewing frame is generated if the group is not actively being viewed -- this would seem like a waste of CPU. Similarly, if you had several remote viewers, I'm assuming the same frame is generated for all of them if they are all viewing the same group. Otherwise this would also seem wasteful.

    On a separate note, I emailed about increasing the FPS, but per Ken, for group viewing it is hard coded to 5 FPS (with other FPS rates for different viewing modes, more FPS for solo cams).
     
  7. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    19,874
    Likes Received:
    4,137
    Fyi, if you have more than one cam you can change the event color in the general tab so they are independently represented on the timeline.
     
    curado likes this.