Installation project, your advice requested!

inforlonghaul

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Let me first say that while I have experience messing with security systems that have already been installed and installing systems in my own house, I have zero experience in doing from-the-ground-up installations for other people. So I'm really needing assistance to make sure I've covered all my bases in doing an installation for a buddy of mine.

Here's what all I'm getting him:

- 16 Channel HD-TVI DVR
- 10 HD-TVI 1080p Cameras
- 18 Channel 12VDC/10Amp Power Supply Box
- 1000ft Roll of Siamese Cable
- Female Power Connectors for Siamese Cable
- Twist on Male BNC Connector
- RG59 Crimping Tool and Cable Stripper (do I even need crimp tool since connectors are twist on?)

Is there anything else that needs to be in the list that I've missed because last thing I want to happen is be up there doing this stuff and it come to a grinding halt because I'm lacking something.

I really appreciate any feedback on this.

Q™

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
In my opinion you absolutely should scrap the HD-TVI and purchase networked IP cameras and NVR and install using Cat5e or Cat6 cable. There will be a learning curve but at the end of the project you will have joined the march into the future.

inforlonghaul

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
I appreciate your opinion, but that's not the advice I was asking for. The budget is low, about $2,500 and IP cameras are way outside that budget.

But also, there's nothing wrong with HD-TVI. While it's not IP, I looks just as good as IP for a fraction of the cost.

inforlonghaul

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Is there anything else that needs to be in the list that I've missed because last thing I want to happen is be up there doing this stuff and it come to a grinding halt because I'm lacking something.
Way to nitpick my request for feedback haha.