Installing motorized dome camera under slanted Eave/Soffit

stealthrt

n3wb
Reaction score
Hey all I am new to installing cameras on my home. I have already ran the Ethernet cables to each edge of the house since I am wanting to install one camera up under the Eave/Soffit so that at least the base of the camera is out of sight.

However there is a problem and the reason I am creating this post. My home is old and therefore not very efficient when it comes to design since back then when it was build no one was designing it in mind of technology.

Here is an image of one of my corner setups:

1617921833540.jpeg

Currently I’m not able to think of a way to hide half the camera but have enough showing so that I can rotate it and not have any obstacles in my way.

The closest I have come to finding perhaps something that would work would be the
below:

1617921869096.jpeg

But using this would very much show all of the camera plus some of the wires coming from it.

the most difficult about this project is the fact that the wife does not want holes in our newly installed siding. So that just adds another layer of difficulty when trying to find a secure way to hang them.

So does any one here, pro installers or DIYers, have any ideas on how I can achieve this setup?

sebastiantombs

Known around here
Reaction score
Given that the general angle of a camera on a soffit is "down" you can use the soffit angle to your advantage. First, use turret cameras rather than bullets, much less obtrusive IMHO. I have three across the front of the house, mounted to the soffits, and hardly anyone ever notices them.

Next, with that style soffit, you can bend the outer flange out of the way and pull one piece of the soffit to get very easy access for wiring. You'llprobably have to pull a nail or stale to be able to slide it out, but that will be the hard part.